The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post

Am I correct or does the shift make 40 eligible?
Are we talking NFHS or NCAA?

NFHS:
Based on the formation that you list, no he is still ineligible because you cannot shift to make an exception eligible once they take their positions. BUT, this play COULD be legal if you have 2 more players numbered 50-79 because 40 would NOT be an exception as there would be 5 ineligible players in the formation and they all could shift provided their hands were never on the ground.

NCAA:
It could be legal, provided that the center hasn't touched the ball or simulated touching the ball as THAT is what locks the players in for the numbering exception

Last edited by refbuz; Thu Nov 11, 2010 at 10:30am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 11, 2010, 12:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 110
Also the Center cannot become eligible unless the ball is touched by a defensive player.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2010, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkdow View Post
Also the Center cannot become eligible unless the ball is touched by a defensive player.
The center/snapper could be eligible if he has an eligible number AND is on the end of the line.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2010, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by refbuz View Post
The center/snapper could be eligible if he has an eligible number AND is on the end of the line.
That doesn't contradict -- or bear any relevance to -- what bkdow wrote.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2010, 12:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Quote:
Originally Posted by refbuz View Post
Are we talking NFHS or NCAA?

NFHS:
Based on the formation that you list, no he is still ineligible because you cannot shift to make an exception eligible once they take their positions. BUT, this play COULD be legal if you have 2 more players numbered 50-79 because 40 would NOT be an exception as there would be 5 ineligible players in the formation and they all could shift provided their hands were never on the ground.

NCAA:
It could be legal, provided that the center hasn't touched the ball or simulated touching the ball as THAT is what locks the players in for the numbering exception
It's a Fed game.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 12, 2010, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by refbuz View Post
NFHS: Based on the formation that you list, no he is still ineligible because you cannot shift to make an exception eligible once they take their positions. BUT, this play COULD be legal if you have 2 more players numbered 50-79 because 40 would NOT be an exception as there would be 5 ineligible players in the formation and they all could shift provided their hands were never on the ground.
NFHS Case Book play 7.5.2.sit b, seems to confirm the above conclusion.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Eligible? Refsmitty Football 3 Wed Sep 22, 2010 02:19pm
How do you identify eligible/ineligible recievers? Brandon Kincer Football 56 Sat May 16, 2009 07:15pm
Ineligible or Not? Simbio Football 4 Wed Sep 26, 2007 05:41pm
Eligible/Ineligible? WyMike Football 19 Fri Oct 22, 2004 03:43pm
Eligible or ineligible receiver Derock1986 Football 18 Thu Dec 05, 2002 03:04am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1