View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 09, 2010, 02:23pm
MNBlue MNBlue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Eligible or Ineligible

Team K lines up in scrimmage kick formation. These are the numbers of the players for K:

80 - 83 - 60 - 40 - 61 - 70 - 85

---------12--------20

--------------15
--------------63

K then shifts out of this formation and moves into this position (we called it a reverse swinging gate):

80 - 83 - 60 - 63 - 61 - 70---------------------------40
--------------------------------------------------------85

---------------------------12------------------------------20

-----------------------------------------------------15


Since 40 was in under the numbering exception and initially set up between the ends as required, does the shifting of the entire line and putting 40 in an eligible position make him eligible?

My position, based on 7-2-5-b-exception 2, is that it does not since 40 did not initially set in an eligible position and was in under the numbering exception, the shift by K would not make him eligible.

Am I correct or does the shift make 40 eligible?
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote