The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 19, 2010, 12:19pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
On 4th down or a try, under the numbering exception, once the player not numbered 50-79 takes the position of a player normally numbered 50-79 between the ends, he is ineligible, so even though they shift into a formation that makes them an end, they remain ineligible based on the initial positioning.
In your diagram, both 18 and 45 entered under the numbering exception . Your formation is perilously close to what the dreaded A-11 was trying to create. Under the rule, B and the officials are not tasked with determining who is eligible, they are both ineligible based on their initial positioning.


Quote:
A player in the game under this exception must assume an initial position on his line of scrimmage between the ends and he remains an ineligible forward-pass receiver during that down unless the pass is touched by B (7-5-6b).
On downs 1-3, if A shifts or sets into a scrimmage kick formation, only the snapper may avail himself of the numbering exception and he must line up between the ends.

Last edited by HLin NC; Tue Oct 19, 2010 at 12:23pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 19, 2010, 12:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 265
HL, I agree with you in principle, but what if 45 had been the TE all game and 80 just clearly lines up on the LOS by mistake. The K coach hollars at him to get off the line and 80 shifts back. They fake the punt and throw a pass to 45 for a 1st down.

Do we have the rule support in saying that 45 could have been a numbering exception; therefore, he remains ineligible after the shift...even though the K coach argues that 18 and 30 were his exceptions?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 19, 2010, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
I consider 18, 30, and 45 all in under the numbering exception in this formation although technically only 2 of the 3 are replacing normally ineligible numbers. Patton, you bring up a good point but if A intended for A45 to be eligible, they should not have initially lined up A80 on the end. Depending on game situation or how long A80 was in that position I could see letting this go but by rule A45 is ineligible.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 19, 2010, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patton View Post
HL, I agree with you in principle, but what if 45 had been the TE all game and 80 just clearly lines up on the LOS by mistake. The K coach hollars at him to get off the line and 80 shifts back. They fake the punt and throw a pass to 45 for a 1st down.

Do we have the rule support in saying that 45 could have been a numbering exception; therefore, he remains ineligible after the shift...even though the K coach argues that 18 and 30 were his exceptions?
You don't pick and choose... the rule applies to ALL players that it applies to ... equally.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 24, 2010, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Watertown, SD
Posts: 56
Send a message via Skype™ to jemiller
IN SD we have 9 man football played by most of the state. There are no numbering requirements. As such, you can have this situation on every play, depending on who is switching on and off the line. We even have a center eligible option on occasion. FYI Jim
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 24, 2010, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Patton View Post
HL, I agree with you in principle, but what if 45 had been the TE all game and 80 just clearly lines up on the LOS by mistake. The K coach hollars at him to get off the line and 80 shifts back. They fake the punt and throw a pass to 45 for a 1st down.

Do we have the rule support in saying that 45 could have been a numbering exception; therefore, he remains ineligible after the shift...even though the K coach argues that 18 and 30 were his exceptions?

Patton, you can come up with all the if's you would like but 18, 30, and 45 will remain ineligible throughout the down.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal Numbering Tom Hinrichs Football 3 Mon Nov 10, 2008 02:29pm
numbering FATUMP Football 8 Tue Nov 14, 2006 01:25pm
Numbering question jjb Football 2 Sun Oct 22, 2006 03:08pm
numbering ref13 Football 9 Wed Oct 12, 2005 12:44pm
Louisiana Exceptions wadep1965 Basketball 2 Sun Jan 06, 2002 02:16am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1