![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
8.2.2 SITUATION C: On the last timed down of the fourth period, the opponents of Team A foul on a play where Team A: (a) scores a touchdown that leaves Team A trailing by one point, (b) scores a field goal which ties the game, or (c) scores a touchdown that leaves team A trailing by one point and the opponents also foul on the try. RULING: In (a), Team A has the option to keep the score, with the penalty assessed on the try. The penalty cannot be assessed on the first play of overtime as there is no subsequent kickoff. In (b), Team A has the option to keep the score, with penalty assessment on the first play of overtime as the first play of overtime is the succeeding spot. In (c), Team A may only have the penalty for the opponent foul on the scoring play enforced on the try but cannot carry over the penalty to overtime; however, the foul by the opponent during the try could be enforced on the first play of overtime at Team A’s choice. Check out the wording of the ruling in (b). |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
True, but there is no subsequent kickoff either, which was the point of the post. The option to accept a foul during a scoring play and have it assessed at the succeeding spot in overtime is a valid option. If the foul is on b, A can accept the score and have the foul applied to either the try or the succeeding spot. This caseplay supports that, as they allow the penalt to be carried over to the succeeding spot, which is not a subsequent kickoff, but a snap.
|
|
|||
Quote:
In the case play in B, the scoring play is a FG, so the subsequent kickoff is the succeeding spot.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
No, in the case play in B, because the score was a field goal to tie the game on the last play of the game, the succeeding spot is the spot where the ball will first be snapped in OT, determined by the coin toss.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Okay, that's true, my bad. The first snap in OT is the succeeding spot. In the original post, the face mask penalty would have to be assessed on the try, because the try is the succeeding spot. The penalty cannot be assessed on B's 1st down play. B's 1sr down play is not the succeeding spot.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Technical Foul--Overtime | bas2456 | Basketball | 17 | Sun Feb 07, 2010 10:55pm |
Dead Ball Foul prior to Overtime | gtwbam | Football | 6 | Tue Sep 25, 2007 08:46am |
Overtime | CLAY | Basketball | 7 | Wed Dec 15, 2004 10:04am |
Overtime | Just Curious | Basketball | 10 | Mon Feb 12, 2001 12:56pm |
Overtime | Larry Gonski | Football | 3 | Wed Nov 03, 1999 04:10pm |