The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 20, 2010, 09:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by wwcfoa43 View Post
So in NFHS, the ball is dead simultaneously caught even though neither player may be down? Or was this a typo?

(Excuse that fact that I do not have a NFHS rule book as I officate Canadian football.)
Not a typo. And that's no excuse.

RULE 7-5-4: A forward pass, legal or illegal, is complete and the ball may be
advanced when caught by any player of A or B. If a forward pass is caught simultaneously
by two opponents, the ball becomes dead and belongs to the passing
team.

7.5.4 SITUATION: Airborne A1 and B1 simultaneously gain possession of a
legal forward pass near the goal line and return to the ground where: (a) they
alight in the field of play inbounds; or (b) they alight in the end zone with the ball;
or (c) A1 lands in the end zone and B1 in the field of play inbounds; (d) B1 comes
down in the end zone and A1 lands in the field of play; or (e) A1 lands in the end
zone and B1 lands out of bounds. RULING: In (a), the ball is dead and belongs to
A at the yard line through the foremost point of the ball when A1 and B1 contacted
the ground inbounds. It is a touchdown in (b). In (c) and (d), the ball
becomes dead and the pass is complete at the yard line through the foremost
point of the ball when the players contacted the ground inbounds. If the ball has
penetrated the plane of the goal line in either (c) or (d), it is a touchdown. In (e)
incomplete pass. COMMENT: In order for there to be a simultaneous catch,
opposing players must have simultaneous joint possession, and both must be in
contact with the ground inbounds. The players’ contact with the ground does not
have to be exactly simultaneous. If A1 and B1 jointly possess a forward pass
while airborne and both land inbounds, it is a completed pass, the ball is dead at
that point and belongs to A. If there is simultaneous recovery of a fumble, the ball
becomes dead and belongs to the team which last had possession. If there is
simultaneous recovery of a free kick or scrimmage kick, the ball becomes dead
and belongs to the receiving team. (4-2-2c; 7-5-4; 8-2-1)
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA: Momentum DJ_NV Football 1 Mon May 14, 2007 01:38pm
Momentum question sj Football 36 Tue Oct 24, 2006 10:50am
Simultaneous Catch? w_sohl Football 3 Mon Aug 22, 2005 08:14am
Simultaneous catch ruling ljudge Football 6 Thu Jun 02, 2005 03:48pm
Simultaneous Catch Mark Dexter Football 5 Sat Dec 01, 2001 09:54am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1