![]() |
|
|||
3.7.5 SITUATION: Substitute (a) A1, or (b) B1, noticing his team has only 10
players on the field, comes onto the field just as the ball is about to be snapped. RULING: In (a), A1 must be on the field on A’s side of the neutral zone, inside the 9-yard marks, and not violate the shift or motion provisions. Furthermore, the act of his coming onto the field must not deceive the defensive team. In (b), the substitution is legal as long as B1 is on the field on B’s side of the neutral zone prior to the snap. (3-7-6; 7-2-1,6,7; 9-6-4) The case does not discuss the penalty: if the covering official judges the foul to be accidental or negligent, it's a 5 yard illegal formation penalty for not being within the 9-yard marks prior to the down (7-2-1). If the official judges that the offense is deliberately deceiving the defense, it's unsportsmanlike conduct (9-5-1(f)).
__________________
Cheers, mb |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
illegal Substitution or illegal Participation | verticalStripes | Football | 11 | Fri Sep 12, 2008 10:57am |
Illegal Participation, Illegal Touching, Nothing | BoBo | Football | 13 | Thu Nov 01, 2007 02:09pm |
Illegal Participation | Samdog | Football | 19 | Fri Sep 02, 2005 04:46am |
Illegal Formation or Illegal participation? | wgw | Football | 9 | Mon Aug 29, 2005 09:31am |
illegal participation? | gtwbam | Football | 6 | Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:50am |