The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 30, 2004, 06:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 45
What's the ruling?

Team A has the Ball on B's 5 yard line. The ball is snapped and the Quarterback goes back to pass. The wide receiver runs a down and out pattern in the end zone and inadvertently steps out of bounds (he was never forced out of bounds by the defense) The receiver realizing he stepped out of bounds returns in the end zone. The quarterback spots the same receiver in the end zone and throws him a completed pass. What's the call?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 30, 2004, 07:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
I have Illegal participation enforced 15 yards from the previous spot since it was during loose-ball play. Replay the down from the 20.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 30, 2004, 07:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Kirkland, Washington
Posts: 422
Send a message via ICQ to Jim S Send a message via AIM to Jim S
Sounds good to me.
__________________
Jim Schroeder

Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2, Read Rule 2!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 30, 2004, 08:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 45
OK guys What are your responses to the following Reference. In the case book under "illegal Participation" in the comment section on top of page 70 it states.....
"When A1 goes out of bounds voluntarily or by accident, or delays his return after being blocked out by an opponent, he commits an illegal participation foul when he returns inbounds. The spot of the foul is were he returns inbounds. What's the call now?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 30, 2004, 08:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Same call as before?

Quote:
Originally posted by ljudge
I have Illegal participation enforced 15 yards from the previous spot since it was during loose-ball play. Replay the down from the 20.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 30, 2004, 09:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Quote:
Originally posted by gtwbam
OK guys What are your responses to the following Reference. In the case book under "illegal Participation" in the comment section on top of page 70 it states.....
"When A1 goes out of bounds voluntarily or by accident, or delays his return after being blocked out by an opponent, he commits an illegal participation foul when he returns inbounds. The spot of the foul is were he returns inbounds. What's the call now?
The spot of the foul is in the end zone. However, the basic spot during this loose ball play is the previous line of scrimmage. As the spot of the foul is not behind the basic spot, we'll enforce from the basic spot. Replay from the 20.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 01, 2004, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Alexandria, LA
Posts: 175
No player of A or K may go OOB a return to participate.

__________________
CW4 Paul Gilmore
Installation Food Advisor
Camp Beauregard
Alexandria, LA
Louisiana NG
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1