The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 12, 2010, 04:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by gene2112 View Post
in 7-4-3-b it states that the offense would lose the ball on a fourth down play if the fumble "becomes dead inbounds while no player is in possession". How would that be possible if a fumble is always considered a live ball while it remains inbounds?
If it came to rest with nobody attempting to gain possession.

Let's get something straight about the play in question: Did the QB gain possession of the ball received via snap? If yes, incomplete forward pass. I don't see any case for its being intentional grounding unless very close to A's goal line. If not possessed by the QB, the snap has been batted illegally.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legal "trick" plays? SC Ump Football 13 Mon Sep 13, 2010 01:03pm
ABC's "Nightline" examines "worst calls ever" tonight pizanno Basketball 27 Fri Jul 04, 2008 06:08am
"serious" foul by offended team during their advantage play Robert Goodman Rugby 4 Tue Aug 07, 2007 12:21pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1