The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 02, 2010, 10:32am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp View Post
This slide doesn't contradict a single thing I've written. If (based on what you quoted), it's (1), it's a foul. If (2), no foul. I think I've been pretty clear in what I've written -- haven't I been?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 02, 2010, 10:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
This slide doesn't contradict a single thing I've written. If (based on what you quoted), it's (1), it's a foul. If (2), no foul. I think I've been pretty clear in what I've written -- haven't I been?
Apparently not, because this illustration seems to contradict exactly what you have been saying. It seems to support the general consensus that "additional contact negates the HC foul."

Anyway, I have a tendency to be bull headed and stubborn on things I shouldn't be, so I humbly surrender. I can see where in the technical sense of the rule, you would be correct, but I still can't envision anything in real life that would make me call a HC if there is additional contact.
Peace, Grits, and Gravy to you and yours.

Last edited by BroKen62; Thu Sep 02, 2010 at 10:39am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 02, 2010, 10:49am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by BroKen62 View Post
Apparently not, because this illustration seems to contradict exactly what you have been saying. It seems to support the general consensus that "additional contact negates the HC foul."
Other contact results in runner being downed is far different than other contact occurs.

I'm done with this, too. No reason to keep beating the same drum. However, I will say that there seems to be far less than a "consensus."

Let me throw this hypothetical at you, though. This happened in Week 1 in my varsity game.

A23 runs right. He's held up pretty quickly by multiple B players. Maybe a second before we would've ruled progress stopped, a B player on his knees reaches up from behind, reaches into the back of A23's collar, and pulls A23 straight back to the ground. Would you flag this?

Last edited by Rich; Thu Sep 02, 2010 at 10:53am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 02, 2010, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
Other contact results in runner being downed is far different than other contact occurs.

I'm done with this, too. No reason to keep beating the same drum. However, I will say that there seems to be far less than a "consensus."

Let me throw this hypothetical at you, though. This happened in Week 1 in my varsity game.

A23 runs right. He's held up pretty quickly by multiple B players. Maybe a second before we would've ruled progress stopped, a B player on his knees reaches up from behind, reaches into the back of A23's collar, and pulls A23 straight back to the ground. Would you flag this?
no, because other contact was involved.
About the only way I'll call a horsecollar is one runner, one defensive guy, a hand inside the collar at the back or side, and a pull down backwards or to the side.

Last edited by BroKen62; Thu Sep 02, 2010 at 11:10am.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 02, 2010, 11:47am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by BroKen62 View Post
no, because other contact was involved.
About the only way I'll call a horsecollar is one runner, one defensive guy, a hand inside the collar at the back or side, and a pull down backwards or to the side.
Then I guess I have nothing more to say on the subject. We disagree.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 02, 2010, 11:48am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by BroKen62 View Post
no, because other contact was involved.
About the only way I'll call a horsecollar is one runner, one defensive guy, a hand inside the collar at the back or side, and a pull down backwards or to the side.
Oh, one more thing: The rule and case plays also say nothing about which direction the runner is pulled down. It's only relevant in NFHS rules where the hand is, not the direction of the tackle. This was mentioned in our state meeting as a common misconception of this rule and the rules committee was mentioned as a source. I'm sure other states have communicated differently.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 02, 2010, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
Oh, one more thing: The rule and case plays also say nothing about which direction the runner is pulled down. It's only relevant in NFHS rules where the hand is, not the direction of the tackle. This was mentioned in our state meeting as a common misconception of this rule and the rules committee was mentioned as a source. I'm sure other states have communicated differently.
i agree with that. All my information came from our State meeting last year, where our State Director showed the NFHS powerpoint slides like what was posted here, and gave the "official interpretation." Therefore, until something else official comes down the pipe to change things, we will just have to agree to disagree. Seems like the problem is greater than just our differing opinions!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Sep 02, 2010, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by BroKen62 View Post
i agree with that. All my information came from our State meeting last year, where our State Director showed the NFHS powerpoint slides like what was posted here, and gave the "official interpretation." Therefore, until something else official comes down the pipe to change things, we will just have to agree to disagree. Seems like the problem is greater than just our differing opinions!
And I agree with that: the situation illustrates the danger of a state interpreter basing his rulings on the comic book.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 10, 2010, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
I got what you said the first time. But I would be trying to not call this if another player made contact with the runner (opponent).
Exactly. Too much is being read into the 9.4.3M.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN View Post
Oh, one more thing: The rule and case plays also say nothing about which direction the runner is pulled down. It's only relevant in NFHS rules where the hand is, not the direction of the tackle. This was mentioned in our state meeting as a common misconception of this rule and the rules committee was mentioned as a source. I'm sure other states have communicated differently.
Rich, I'd suggest you read 9.4.3L and 9.4.3N. Both plays state it is not a horse collar foul if the runner is pulled down forward, no matter where the hand is inserted in the collar.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith

Last edited by BktBallRef; Fri Sep 10, 2010 at 10:29pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Horsecollar jordan Football 7 Mon Aug 30, 2010 08:24am
Horsecollar Rule Ref Ump Welsch Football 8 Wed Sep 09, 2009 11:53am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1