![]() |
|
|
|||
I am assuming the TE is in the FBZ (yds) since the Oline is foot to foot with their splits. I am just worried about my DT's knees when he gets blindsided by the TE while trying to follow the G/T's pull.
I guess I should have searched the forum first before posting my question. After I posted I did a search and found the answer I was looking for. |
|
|||
First we've got to break out of the "coachese"-
There is no "tackle box" in the Fed for the blocks nor the QB. We do have the "free blocking zone". Cut block is another coaches term. Blocking below the waist (BBW) is how we would refer to it. Some defensive coaches think that all "cut blocks" are illegal. That isn't the case. Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Also no block below the waist can be coupled with a high block (or a player being engaged with another opponent) if that low block is a delayed block. Which by definition is a chop block.
I agree there are all kinds of coach speak that coaches need to stop using when it has nothing to do with the rules. And when a TE is in the FBZ he is allowed to do anything that the others in that zone can do. But there are many teams that put their TE out of the zone, but nothing in the rule disallowing the TE from being in the zone. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
I wouldn't make that statement, because compared to the length of time of many downs, the ball can frequently spend all or most of it in the FBZ. Better not to imply there's anything like a time limit on it.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Is the wording of 2-17-2 different to 2-17-3 and 2-17-4 so as to allow the D linemen to BBW the O linemen in the FBZ, but the D cannot clip or BIB?
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum! |
|
|||
Two flakes, that is correct. Both offensive and defensive linemen may block below the waist if they meet the rest of the free blocking zone criteria. A defensive player is considered a linemen for these purposes if he is within a yard of his line of scrimmage at the snap.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
Also, b/c the fbz is defined as 6x8, we don't refer to it as a tackle box. The general rule is that if the splits are tight or regular, the TE is in the box at the snap. If the splits are extraordinarily wide, it's possible for the TE to be outside the box. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
3 yards is not that far - especially when you consider that the QB is likely about 4-5 feet behing the LOS. 1 step back or 2 diagonally back, and the ball is out of the zone. I'd say "quickly" is almost always right.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Cut Blocks | sm_bbcoach | Football | 11 | Fri Nov 05, 2004 04:08pm |
going to the blocks | Nevadaref | Basketball | 8 | Tue Mar 16, 2004 05:49pm |
Low Blocks & Shotgun | parepat | Football | 4 | Wed Oct 08, 2003 10:42am |
Blocks in the back? | davidfv1 | Football | 17 | Tue Sep 09, 2003 06:51pm |
Chop Blocks | FridayKnights | Football | 12 | Mon Jun 09, 2003 10:03pm |