![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
After reading several of the points laid out in last year's post on this topic I have to say that there is definitely a loophole the size of Mark Mangino in rule 2-29 and the Federation would be doing all a favor to clarify the wording. There are technicalities all through the rulebook and most make sense but this one seems to fly in the face of logic.
Why would it be expressly prohibited for the player to participate on the field of play but be acceptable by rule for him to participate while suspended in the air outside the field of play? It just seems to defy the spirit of the rule that an out-of-bounds player can just jump in the air and legally participate. That being said the text of the rule is pretty clear. Touching is touching. If it's me, you can bet that the receiver's foot sure looked like it was still on the ground or touching that nonplayer next to him or the chain equipment. In most cases I know how I would rule, this is an exception. But I do know that I'm certainly not going to ridicule someone for having a different opinion. Jus' sayin...
__________________
I'm not getting older...these high school kids just keep getting younger and younger |
|
|||
|
Pandora's Box...
Now, I get the rule, I get the play, I get the ruling, and on a test I'd call it that way, but just for fun, here is why I don't like it... So...what if substitute A88 standing in his team box jumps up and does the same thing...technically he's not out of bounds so I guess his touching doesn't cause the ball to become dead even though everyone in the entire county knows the play is over, but you might just have an IW for common sense. I guess you might say he "otherwise participated in the play" and thus is guilty of IP. I'll just call incomplete pass. What if A88 had been previously ejected, or there's another player wearing #88 currently in the game, or A88 isn't wearing legal equipment... BREAKING NEWS: A new play from the rulebook loophole crew: QB A1 rolls right, throws the pass to cheerleader #7 who is in the air after a baskettoss on the track, who while airborne and NOT out of bounds, catches and tosses the ball to A2 who runs for a touchdown. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| just a brain teaser | cmathews | Football | 6 | Tue Sep 16, 2008 05:53am |
| brain teaser | Andy | Softball | 14 | Sun Oct 21, 2007 07:26pm |
| Slightly OT: Brain Teaser | rotationslim | Basketball | 9 | Mon Apr 24, 2006 06:59am |
| Off season brain teaser | FredFan7 | Football | 11 | Thu Mar 09, 2006 06:35pm |
| Brain teaser. | Mike Simonds | Football | 4 | Tue Jul 22, 2003 01:34pm |