![]() |
|
|
|||
Brain teaser
QB1 rolls to the right. WR88, having gone out of bounds, remains about 5 yards out of bounds, about 5 yards downfield. QB1, avoiding a sack while outside the tackle box, throws the ball away. WR88 jumps in the air (both feet), "catches" the ball, and flings it downfield back in-bounds before touching the ground. WR80 catches the ball in the end-zone, in bounds.
What do you have? Either rule set.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
The play is blown dead when WR touches the pass when he jumps from OOB. The subsequent possession (not a "catch") and other subsequent acts are inconsequential.
My (NFHS) take: Incomplete pass. |
|
|||
For NCAA the result of the play is a TD. The first pass was not completed until it was caught by A80. There wasn't a second forward pass because the first pass was not yet completed. With all that said, there is a foul for illegal touching since A88 lost his eligibility when he volunarily went out of bounds and touched the ball prior to it touching a Team B player on an official. The penalty, as already stated by Welpe, is a loss of down at the previous spot. The clock will start on the snap.
|
|
|||
![]() Quote:
Illegal participation!
__________________
Pope Francis Last edited by JugglingReferee; Wed Aug 04, 2010 at 12:05pm. |
|
|||
I don't have both books - just NCAA ... but please use the rules you're supposed to use - and quote the rule if you're going to refer to it. Didn't see an answer to the question from you yet though!
![]()
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
Oh lord no not this play again!!!
Cue the violent shakes and cold sweats..."is touching is touching is touching!" Reddings guide illegal participation
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers Last edited by Welpe; Tue Aug 03, 2010 at 04:53pm. |
|
|||
OK seriously, for NCAA I have illegal touching by A88. Loss of down at the previous spot.
7-3-4 Eligibility Lost by Going Out of Bounds ARTICLE 4. No eligible offensive receiver who goes out of bounds during a down shall touch a legal forward pass in the field of play or end zones or while airborne until it has been touched by an opponent or official (A.R. 7-3-4-I-III). [Exception: This does not apply to an eligible offensive player who attempts to return inbounds immediately after going out of bounds due to contact by an opponent (A.R. 7-3-4-IV)]. PENALTY—Loss of down at the previous spot [S16 and S9]. AR 7-3-4-V Eligible receiver A44 is running a pass pattern near the sideline. As a legal forward pass comes toward him, he accidentally steps on the sideline, leaps, muffs the pass into the air, returns to the ground inbounds, grabs the ball and lands on his knees inbounds with the ball firmly in his possession. RULING: Illegal touching. Penalty— loss of down at the previous spot. A44 lost his eligibility by stepping out of bounds and did not regain his eligibility before touching the ball the second time. AND....just to prove that an airborne receiver that was out of bounds is no longer out of bounds, I offer the following AR: AR 7-3-6-VII A86 is legally blocked out of bounds by B18 at Team B’s two-yard line. A86, while attempting an immediate return to the field of play, leaps from out of bounds and is airborne as he receives A16’s legal forward pass. He lands in Team B’s end zone completing the catch. RULING: Touchdown (Rules 4-1-3-c, 4-2-3-a, 7-3-4 Exception and 8-2-1-b).
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers Last edited by Welpe; Tue Aug 03, 2010 at 05:27pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
In the example, (it is my interpretation & belief) that when A88 first touched the ground out of bounds, he fulfilled the requirement of being out of bounds. What he does thereafter doesn't much matter. So when he jumps up into the air (5 yards out of bounds), all he is is an out of bounds player jumping up into the air, as opposed to an out of bounds player standing still, but still an out of bounds player. NF: 2-29-3, "A loose ball is out of bounds when it touches anything, including a player or game official who is out of bounds." |
|
|||
As a note for NFHS, I believe the Redding Guide has this as illegal participation.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
I thought that was removed? I haven't gotten my 2010 guide yet.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
As long as we're clear that this is your "interpretation & belief," and yours alone, we can ignore it. The rest of us will rely on authoritative sources and accepted interpretations published by FED and other sources to back our opinions.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
Quote:
You get to choose whatever "authoritative sources" you like to support your conclusion, and if you have access to any "accepted interpretations published by FED", I'd appreciate your sharing them. "Jaybird" do yourself a favor, understand and accept the reality that you haven't quite earned the right to use words like "therefore", "Proof positive" or "just something fabricated to satisfy a desire" to add any substantial verification to what amounts to what are just your "opinions". |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
just a brain teaser | cmathews | Football | 6 | Tue Sep 16, 2008 05:53am |
brain teaser | Andy | Softball | 14 | Sun Oct 21, 2007 07:26pm |
Slightly OT: Brain Teaser | rotationslim | Basketball | 9 | Mon Apr 24, 2006 06:59am |
Off season brain teaser | FredFan7 | Football | 11 | Thu Mar 09, 2006 06:35pm |
Brain teaser. | Mike Simonds | Football | 4 | Tue Jul 22, 2003 01:34pm |