The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 26, 2010, 02:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
Quote:
"Under heavy pressure he throws the ball at the feet of A88" is absolutely an illegal pass.
You're asking for trouble by taking this strong a stance here. The grounding rule, both Fed and NCAA, prevents a QB from gaining an advantage by throwing a ball to essentially nowhere. If he throws it at his feet, you can't determine whether the throw was bad, the receiver didn't properly move to receive it, or numerous other things. Even IF the QB was trying to throw an incomplete pass, he gets to do that, as long as the applicable rule is followed -- that being an eligible receiver is nearby.

Is it grounding for a QB to throw a slant route pass to a slot receiver breaking across the middle at his feet?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Study Group Question #3 (Kick Plays) Reffing Rev. Football 11 Mon Aug 24, 2009 01:08pm
NCAA RULE STUDY GROUP Deager Football 14 Fri Oct 14, 2005 03:16pm
Group Question whiskers_ump Softball 26 Wed Feb 04, 2004 07:13am
Online Study Group davidfv1 Football 0 Fri Sep 12, 2003 02:43am
Foul in a Group ReadyToRef Basketball 8 Mon Jan 28, 2002 10:10pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1