The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 01, 2010, 08:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 150
At about the 3:25 mark of this video. The score is tied 20-20. And there is a kickoff return. I'm curious if there was a flag on this play for a dead-ball personal foul. It looks to me like this guy get creamed after he was clearly OOB. I didn't see any flags flying. But I suppose there could've been some. I'm just curious, thats all.

Also, on the very same play where you ruled the player short of the goal line. What does everyone think about that block by #66. Has the ball left the zone yet? If they had been in shotgun formation, I'd say for certain that this block was illegal. The block was certainly delayed. But I do think maybe the ball was still in the freeblocking zone. And I think if there is doubt about that, then you have to leave that alone. But its close! Good call on the guy being down short of the goal. No doubt about that one.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 01, 2010, 10:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 97
I agree you got the call correct but who was looking at the left tackle on that play. (They put the box on him.) Looks like he stands up then cuts the defensive lineman. In college that's legal but blocking below the waist in HS is not allowed. Who should have been looking at that?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 01, 2010, 11:07pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
There are certain circumstances in Federation rules where blocking below the waist is legal. One of them is on a scrimmage down, a lineman may block another below the waist if both were in the free blocking zone at the snap, the block was in the free blocking zone and the ball was in the free blocking zone.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 07:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
There are certain circumstances in Federation rules where blocking below the waist is legal. One of them is on a scrimmage down, a lineman may block another below the waist if both were in the free blocking zone at the snap, the block was in the free blocking zone and the ball was in the free blocking zone.
I agree that in certain situations, as you say it's legal to block below the waist. This play is border line, as other also stated, as to being legal. My question was, did anyone on the crew see it. It's probably a pass but definetly a talk-to with be player/coach. It's also a great play to discuss (as we are doing here) both from a rules and mechanics situation.

Looks like you guys had a great game & had it covered.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 04, 2010, 09:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by FBullock View Post
I agree that in certain situations, as you say it's legal to block below the waist. This play is border line, as other also stated, as to being legal. My question was, did anyone on the crew see it. It's probably a pass but definetly a talk-to with be player/coach. It's also a great play to discuss (as we are doing here) both from a rules and mechanics situation.

Looks like you guys had a great game & had it covered.
Why a talk-to on a legal block? The ball isn't close to being out of the FBZ. Legal block.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 05, 2010, 08:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 97
I believe it's very close to being an illegal block and the ball being out of the FBZ. From the angle we have on the video, we can't be 100 %. I think any opportunity we have a player that's close to fouling and we see it, we let them know that we saw the play are watching them. This guy probably watches a lot of plays on TV on Saturday & Sunday in which no matter where the ball is the "cut block" is legal. The don't know the difference. This is also a potential safty concern which is another reason to talk to the player.

This is my opinion an some won't agree with it. Do what works for you. I'm not coaching but I'm letting them know that I watching.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 06, 2010, 05:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp View Post
Why a talk-to on a legal block? The ball isn't close to being out of the FBZ. Legal block.
+1

That's like scolding a cornerback because he almost hit the receiver early.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 06, 2010, 07:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
+1

That's like scolding a cornerback because he almost hit the receiver early.
It's not scolding, it's preventative officiating. If they do a good job of avoiding a late hit OB or piling on,etc., you let them know that as well. Field presents and communications with the players is what I'm talking about.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by FBullock View Post
I agree you got the call correct but who was looking at the left tackle on that play. (They put the box on him.) Looks like he stands up then cuts the defensive lineman. In college that's legal but blocking below the waist in HS is not allowed. Who should have been looking at that?
In 5-man mechanics, the wing on that side of the field would have an initial key on that but it's very possible he left his key before the block and could have missed it. I agree with other comments that this is not a foul because the ball is still in the FBZ and both players are on the LOS at the snap. But this is close enough that I talk to him if I see it. If you watched the rest of the video you find out this guy was recruited by Notre Dame and he's currently a sophomore on their roster.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 09:53pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by bisonlj View Post
In 5-man mechanics, the wing on that side of the field would have an initial key on that but it's very possible he left his key before the block and could have missed it. I agree with other comments that this is not a foul because the ball is still in the FBZ and both players are on the LOS at the snap. But this is close enough that I talk to him if I see it. If you watched the rest of the video you find out this guy was recruited by Notre Dame and he's currently a sophomore on their roster.
This sounds like a mechanical difference, but not in our state's mechanics. The key for the wing would be the receiver or inside receiver based on the strength of the formation. I believe in this play the Referee had this "key" based on the formation and the QB's arm. Then again this might be different based on other mechanics. I just know the wing likely does not have this block initially, but then again after the ball is snapped, then we move on to other things.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 05, 2010, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
This sounds like a mechanical difference, but not in our state's mechanics. The key for the wing would be the receiver or inside receiver based on the strength of the formation. I believe in this play the Referee had this "key" based on the formation and the QB's arm. Then again this might be different based on other mechanics. I just know the wing likely does not have this block initially, but then again after the ball is snapped, then we move on to other things.

Peace
Unless the receivers you mentioned are pressed, you should key on the T at least to read pass/run. If you only watch your receiver(s) (sometimes 2 with 5-man) and they aren't pressed, you are officiating air. With 5-man mechanics, the Ts are often left unwatched and can get away with more than others. I've always been taught my wing officials much smarter than me to watch the Ts initial block as often as you can.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 05, 2010, 02:05pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by bisonlj View Post
Unless the receivers you mentioned are pressed, you should key on the T at least to read pass/run. If you only watch your receiver(s) (sometimes 2 with 5-man) and they aren't pressed, you are officiating air. With 5-man mechanics, the Ts are often left unwatched and can get away with more than others. I've always been taught my wing officials much smarter than me to watch the Ts initial block as often as you can.
All I am saying is there is a mechanical difference. I feel the wing can pick this up, but as it relates to the key that is not their responsibility. I will say this again, a "key" is only a very brief look at the initial movement of a player to read the run or the pass. After you realize what the offense is doing, you go to other things. You cannot stay with "keys" very long in 5 or 4 man mechanics. Based on the play it looks legal, but the angle does not disprove or support exactly where the ball is which would be the determining factor.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jul 02, 2010, 04:16am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMooreReferee View Post
At about the 3:25 mark of this video. The score is tied 20-20. And there is a kickoff return. I'm curious if there was a flag on this play for a dead-ball personal foul. It looks to me like this guy get creamed after he was clearly OOB. I didn't see any flags flying. But I suppose there could've been some. I'm just curious, thats all.
Yes there was a flag on this play for a late hit. I was the one that called it as that was my sideline for the kickoff. Until I saw this video, I was not 100% sure I got it right after the fact. There was a TV feed of this game on Comcast SportsNet Chicago Live, but the TV feed did not confirm the call as they only showed an across the field view. This angle proves I got this right too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMooreReferee View Post
Also, on the very same play where you ruled the player short of the goal line. What does everyone think about that block by #66. Has the ball left the zone yet? If they had been in shotgun formation, I'd say for certain that this block was illegal. The block was certainly delayed. But I do think maybe the ball was still in the freeblocking zone. And I think if there is doubt about that, then you have to leave that alone. But its close! Good call on the guy being down short of the goal. No doubt about that one.
I noticed the same thing. But considering the kind of play with a short drop and it is hard to tell, I would have likely let that go too based on the angle.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Finally BlitzkriegBob Softball 3 Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:46am
NCAA must call this different-with video oc Basketball 20 Thu Mar 20, 2008 12:16pm
What's your call? - Video Kostja Basketball 9 Fri Apr 13, 2007 05:33am
Post: you make the call video All_Heart Basketball 22 Fri Mar 31, 2006 09:07am
you make the call video oc Basketball 53 Sun Mar 26, 2006 10:02pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1