![]() |
|
|
|||
But they wouldn't do that, because the penalty would be an awarded touchdown. Isn't that the rule for when a player comes off the bench to stop an apparent touchdown run?
|
|
|||
Quote:
First of all, there is no rule that gives an official authority to blow a play dead, except for a RUNNER whose helmet has come off. Secondly, if an official does blow it dead, it's an inadvertent whistle (vulgar language where i come from ![]() Third, you are correct in your interpretation of a player coming off the bench to stop an apparent touchdown run. If a sub came out and tackled the ball carrier when it was obvious he would have scored, then the Referee can invoke the unfair act rule and award a touchdown. But the proper call for nonplayers on the field with their hats off during a touchdown scoring play is to let the runner score, then give A the option to accept the USC foul on either the try or the kickoff. All this is black and white in the 2009 copy of the NFHS rule book. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
3.2. ART. 3 . . . A period must be extended by an untimed down if during the last timed down of the period, one of the following occured: a. There was a foul by either team and the penalty is accepted, except for those fouls listed in 3-3-4b. ART. 4 . . . A period shall not be extended by an untimed down if during the last timed down of the period, one of the following occurs: a. When the defense fouls during a successful try/field goal and the offended team accepts the results of the play with enforcement of the penalty from the succeeding spot. b. There was a foul by either team and the penalty is accepted for: 1. unsportsmanlike fouls, 2. non-player fouls, 3. fouls that specify a loss of down, or 4. fouls that are enforced on the subsequent kickoff as in Rule 8-2-2. NOTE: The score is cancelled in the event of an accepted foul that specifies a loss of down. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() The only option that would have extended the period would have been illegal participation. |
|
|||
Would you consider this USC, IS, SLW, or nothing considering it was the last play of the game and enforcement would not extend the game? Assuming it's not the last play of the game, does that change your ruling?
|
|
|||
So if the marching band comes onto the field thinking the ball is dead and one of them is likely to have his trombone slid up his wazoo, you let play continue?
|
|
|||
Quote:
Then he would sing a different tune every time he passed gas!! More importantly, it would send a message loud and clear to keep the d@mn band off the field. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Make the dam call!!! | CLH | Basketball | 56 | Mon Feb 12, 2007 11:23pm |
Do you make this call? | bekays | Basketball | 11 | Thu Feb 09, 2006 09:23am |
You make the call | tomegun | Basketball | 35 | Tue May 31, 2005 02:04pm |
YOU MAKE THE CALL! | BoBo | Football | 15 | Fri Oct 15, 2004 01:34pm |
You make the call 2... | w_sohl | Basketball | 10 | Thu Jan 24, 2002 10:11pm |