![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
Broken62:
I concur with you 100%. This is definitely a non-player foul which should be assessed as an USC foul from the succeeding spot. I'll even go as far to say, you can add another 2 or 3 USC fouls against B for the additional non-players on the field. |
|
|||
Quote:
I'm just going by the originally posted description. If, as some viewers are writing, it was just a matter of a few non-players entering a short way into the field briefly without interfering with play and quickly getting off, then it would not be such a dangerous situation. |
|
|||
Quote:
Why not just enforce the current rules as written that address a situation like this instead of making them up as you go along?
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
But they wouldn't do that, because the penalty would be an awarded touchdown. Isn't that the rule for when a player comes off the bench to stop an apparent touchdown run?
|
|
|||
Quote:
First of all, there is no rule that gives an official authority to blow a play dead, except for a RUNNER whose helmet has come off. Secondly, if an official does blow it dead, it's an inadvertent whistle (vulgar language where i come from ![]() Third, you are correct in your interpretation of a player coming off the bench to stop an apparent touchdown run. If a sub came out and tackled the ball carrier when it was obvious he would have scored, then the Referee can invoke the unfair act rule and award a touchdown. But the proper call for nonplayers on the field with their hats off during a touchdown scoring play is to let the runner score, then give A the option to accept the USC foul on either the try or the kickoff. All this is black and white in the 2009 copy of the NFHS rule book. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
3.2. ART. 3 . . . A period must be extended by an untimed down if during the last timed down of the period, one of the following occured: a. There was a foul by either team and the penalty is accepted, except for those fouls listed in 3-3-4b. ART. 4 . . . A period shall not be extended by an untimed down if during the last timed down of the period, one of the following occurs: a. When the defense fouls during a successful try/field goal and the offended team accepts the results of the play with enforcement of the penalty from the succeeding spot. b. There was a foul by either team and the penalty is accepted for: 1. unsportsmanlike fouls, 2. non-player fouls, 3. fouls that specify a loss of down, or 4. fouls that are enforced on the subsequent kickoff as in Rule 8-2-2. NOTE: The score is cancelled in the event of an accepted foul that specifies a loss of down. |
|
|||
So if the marching band comes onto the field thinking the ball is dead and one of them is likely to have his trombone slid up his wazoo, you let play continue?
|
|
|||
Quote:
Then he would sing a different tune every time he passed gas!! More importantly, it would send a message loud and clear to keep the d@mn band off the field. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Make the dam call!!! | CLH | Basketball | 56 | Mon Feb 12, 2007 11:23pm |
Do you make this call? | bekays | Basketball | 11 | Thu Feb 09, 2006 09:23am |
You make the call | tomegun | Basketball | 35 | Tue May 31, 2005 02:04pm |
YOU MAKE THE CALL! | BoBo | Football | 15 | Fri Oct 15, 2004 01:34pm |
You make the call 2... | w_sohl | Basketball | 10 | Thu Jan 24, 2002 10:11pm |