The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2009, 06:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
I would think that there would have to be illegal men downfield in this scenario as well.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2009, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by merlin View Post
I would think that there would have to be illegal men downfield in this scenario as well.
Illegal men? What, no visas?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 13, 2009, 01:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Illegal men? What, no visas?
Yeah, that was funny! I think my mind was fried when I wrote that. Long day at work and this play to think about was too much.
I should have said ineligibles downfield.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 13, 2009, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 63
Send a message via MSN to MI Official Send a message via Skype™ to MI Official
hmmm....

hmmmm. I can't find anything that says recovery AFTER touching by K behind the neutral zone in my case book. but if I use the logic of 'not advancing a muff' why would we not have K ball 1 and 10 at the spot of recovery since a legal kick has occured? The only snag I see in explaining is the pass was incomplete. had it been complet or he ran, would we not by in the right to rule the play was essentially over when K secured possession? just my opinion....
__________________
That looked just ugly enough to be legal.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 13, 2009, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by MI Official View Post
but if I use the logic of 'not advancing a muff' why would we not have K ball 1 and 10 at the spot of recovery since a legal kick has occured?
There is no rule that says "you cannot advance a muff." The rule is you cannot advance a kick beyond the neutral zone.

However, BEHIND the NZ, anyone can advance the ball. 6-2-3
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 13, 2009, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
I'm givng DJ_NV the trophy for coming up with what may just be the most mysterious play situation ever...anybody want to email a NF interpretor for a final ruling?

Just when I thought after 25 years of officiating and rules study I had it all figured out...(or much of it anyway between bouts of random forgetfullness and brain locks...)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 13, 2009, 05:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 170
I'll certainly pass on the credit...this was the brainchild of one of our fellow members in my association. He was going to email it to the Fed as well. I will post here if he receives a response.

Thanks again to all for sparing a bit of their time and brainpower. I was hoping that someone might have been able to produce a casebook situation that I missed, but I just don't think it's there.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2009, 07:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
I believe Merlin has a vaild point. There would almost certainly have to be ineligibles downfield at that point. If so, and since poessession never changed (no 'clean hands' to think about), the foul would be enforced from the previous spot. Replay of 4th down.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2009, 08:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWIG View Post
I believe Merlin has a vaild point. There would almost certainly have to be ineligibles downfield at that point. If so, and since poessession never changed (no 'clean hands' to think about), the foul would be enforced from the previous spot. Replay of 4th down.
A new series is still awarded to K because they are in possession at the end of a down in which R was the first to touch a scrimmage kick beyond the expanded neutral zone. (5-1-3f, 5-2-2, 5-2-5f)

It will be 1st and 10 for K from K's 35 following penalty enforcement.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2009, 11:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by merlin View Post
I would think that there would have to be illegal men downfield in this scenario as well.
We don't even know that the pass went beyond the neutral zone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Ball Mechanics TXMike Football 35 Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:20am
Ball unintentionally kicked into DBT - NFHS kraine27 Baseball 8 Mon May 19, 2008 12:26pm
NFHS dead ball shipwreck Softball 3 Mon Aug 28, 2006 08:24am
NFHS - Lodged ball Chess Ref Basketball 12 Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:33am
NFHS Dead Ball Foul after TD FredFan7 Football 2 Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1