The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 11, 2009, 06:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
Just found this sentance in the Redding guide top left of page 63. Its in the context of the same play in the OP but without the pass:

"If the ball remains behind the neutral zone or returns there, either team may advance it (6-2-2 and 6-2-3)."
Then an example is given like OP except no pass involved..then next para continues.. "In fact, team K may run, pass or even kick again since team possession has not changed."

so, looks like we have an incmplete legal forward pass that is for all practical purposes ignored. we go back to previous spot and award 1/10.

Does it seem like to anyone else that the incomplete forward pass is ingored? ...almost like an extra down within a down is inadvertantly awarded.... wierd!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 11, 2009, 09:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by whitehat View Post
Does it seem like to anyone else that the incomplete forward pass is ingored? ...almost like an extra down within a down is inadvertantly awarded.... wierd!
I wouldn't say it's ignored, but it is "funny" to get a freebie like that. But then, there are all these cases where a penalty can be accepted when the next down was going to be first anyway, and the down is "repeated" yet it's still going to be first down, when by all rights it should be a zeroth down. So maybe the extremely rare case brought up in this thread is just the first installment of payback for the loss of all those zeroth downs.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2009, 07:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
I agree with welpe. K gets to throw an incomplete pass and get a new series after the down ends. "Change of possession" is defined in Rule 2 and it says that there has to be player possession, which didn't happen in this play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2009, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 118
Welpe had it right. A K does get sort of a free play on this, but they used it unwisely. Let's assume K recovers this ball and instead of passing, they run the ball and pick up 8 yards. They are still going to get a first down, but they managed to advance the ball up to the 48 yard line. The team that tried the pass also gets a first down, but they are still back at the 40 after the incompletion. Both situations give K a "free" shot, but the run is better than a pass.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2009, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim D. View Post
Welpe had it right. A K does get sort of a free play on this, but they used it unwisely. Let's assume K recovers this ball and instead of passing, they run the ball and pick up 8 yards. They are still going to get a first down, but they managed to advance the ball up to the 48 yard line. The team that tried the pass also gets a first down, but they are still back at the 40 after the incompletion. Both situations give K a "free" shot, but the run is better than a pass.
What, you're assuming it's known in advance the pass will be incomplete, or that if complete it would gain less than a run?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2009, 06:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 10
I would think that there would have to be illegal men downfield in this scenario as well.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2009, 07:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by merlin View Post
I would think that there would have to be illegal men downfield in this scenario as well.
Illegal men? What, no visas?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2009, 07:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
I believe Merlin has a vaild point. There would almost certainly have to be ineligibles downfield at that point. If so, and since poessession never changed (no 'clean hands' to think about), the foul would be enforced from the previous spot. Replay of 4th down.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 12, 2009, 11:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,919
Quote:
Originally Posted by merlin View Post
I would think that there would have to be illegal men downfield in this scenario as well.
We don't even know that the pass went beyond the neutral zone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Ball Mechanics TXMike Football 35 Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:20am
Ball unintentionally kicked into DBT - NFHS kraine27 Baseball 8 Mon May 19, 2008 12:26pm
NFHS dead ball shipwreck Softball 3 Mon Aug 28, 2006 08:24am
NFHS - Lodged ball Chess Ref Basketball 12 Wed Nov 16, 2005 12:33am
NFHS Dead Ball Foul after TD FredFan7 Football 2 Wed Aug 03, 2005 10:36am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1