The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 10:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
If the receiver does not get tackled when pushed back into the field of play with that initial contact, you do not have forward progress so he is not awarded a TD unless he gets back into the end zone. I think there is a case play that clarifies this but i can't find it. I know I've read it in other publications and this has been discussed at many of the clinics I've attended. Am I missing something here?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 10:43pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Quote:
If the receiver does not get tackled when pushed back into the field of play
Incorrect

Case play-

7.5.2 SITUATION J: A8, in B’s end zone, leaps in the air to catch a pass and is contacted by B2 forcing A8 to come down inbounds on B’s 1-yard line where he is downed. RULING: Touchdown, since A8’s forward progress was stopped over B’s end zone by B2’s contact. Even though the catch was not made until A8 came down inbounds, his forward progress was stopped by B2’s contact resulting in A possessing the live ball in its opponent’s end zone, hence, a touchdown.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 09, 2009, 11:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
Incorrect

Case play-

7.5.2 SITUATION J: A8, in B’s end zone, leaps in the air to catch a pass and is contacted by B2 forcing A8 to come down inbounds on B’s 1-yard line where he is downed. RULING: Touchdown, since A8’s forward progress was stopped over B’s end zone by B2’s contact. Even though the catch was not made until A8 came down inbounds, his forward progress was stopped by B2’s contact resulting in A possessing the live ball in its opponent’s end zone, hence, a touchdown.
This play involves forward progress. If he's pushed back but that does not cause the receiver to be downed, forward progress does not apply. Just because a guy gets pushed back, if he gets free from the tackler, he doesn't get credit for the forward progress of the original hit.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 12:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
So the defender should try to shove the airborne receiver back but not hold on to him long enough to complete the tackle? And not to shove him across the sideline in the field of play either?

We know that if the receiver is carried off the ground out of bounds by an opponent after the catch, the pass is complete. No equivalent benefit if he's carried out of the end zone and dropped?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 12:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
When A possesses the ball in B's end zone it is a touchdown and the ball is dead. Period.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 06:47am
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Quote:
This play involves forward progress.
That is what the OP references, he just doesn't use the terminology.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Forward progress doesn't apply if the defender hits a receiver but doesn't tackle him. It's just a hit. It would be equivalent to a running back running into the line, hitting a defender and bouncing it around the outside. You don't declare forward progress at the point of the first hit. Forward progess applies if the runner is tackled or gives up his ability to advance.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 04:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
We were discussing possession after a catch of an airborne player on a similar thread.
There seems to be an inconsistency: A player is airborne in the EZ (like the forward progress situation described above), he is pushed back out of EZ while airborn to 1yd line. We have said TD because as soon as forward progress is ruled then play is over. I agree. Yet, what if that player looses the ball while still airborne as he comes down on the 1yd line? If the forward progress determines the TD then it should still be a TD right? If not, explain

Further, why is it a TD when forward progress is ruled in the above situation but not a TD, say 5 yards deep in the EZ as A player possesses the ball while airborne, is hit and then looses control of ball on the way down to the ground or as he hits the ground?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 04:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
It's my understanding that a catch (anywhere) has not been completed until an airborne receiver returns to the ground in possession of the ball. When possession is obtained while ariborne, and subsequently lost before returning to the ground, the pass has not been caught and the pass is considered incomplete, whereas forward progress is irrelevant.

If I follow your second example, that pass would be incomplete as well, for the same reason.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 08:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Hickland View Post
When A possesses the ball in B's end zone it is a touchdown and the ball is dead. Period.
I disagree with this statement. You do not have a completed catch at this point. Thus, I don't believe we have a TD yet.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 09:19pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
Jeez almighty

7.5.2 SITUATION J: A8, in B’s end zone, leaps in the air to catch a pass and is
contacted by B2 forcing A8 to come down inbounds on B’s 1-yard line where he
is downed.
RULING: Touchdown, since A8’s forward progress was stopped over
B’s end zone by B2’s contact. Even though the catch was not made until A8 came
down inbounds,
his forward progress was stopped by B2’s contact resulting in A
possessing the live ball in its opponent’s end zone, hence, a touchdown.


I swear by all that is Holy this is copied directly from the 2009 Fed case book.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 09:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
7.5.2 SITUATION J: A8, in B’s end zone, leaps in the air to catch a pass and is
contacted by B2 forcing A8 to come down inbounds on B’s 1-yard line where he
is downed.
RULING: Touchdown, since A8’s forward progress was stopped over
B’s end zone by B2’s contact. Even though the catch was not made until A8 came
down inbounds,
his forward progress was stopped by B2’s contact resulting in A
possessing the live ball in its opponent’s end zone, hence, a touchdown.


I swear by all that is Holy this is copied directly from the 2009 Fed case book.
You guys are all missing the point. Forward progress only applies when it is "the end of advancement" (as quoted from 2-15-1). If I am hit while airborn and not tackled or the ball is otherwise declared dead because I'm getting pushed back (forward progress awarded), I have not ended my advancement. If that hit only pushes him back and he first touches the ground outside the end zone, he is not awarded forward progress. That is the definition everyone seems to be missing. I don't think it's vague at all. Since forward progress is not awarded if the receiver regains control and gets away from the defender, you do not award forward progress. The case book above even mentions "where he is downed" implying the receiver was tackled as part of the contact.

Last edited by bisonlj; Tue Nov 10, 2009 at 09:38pm.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 11:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 508
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
7.5.2 SITUATION J: A8, in B’s end zone, leaps in the air to catch a pass and is
contacted by B2 forcing A8 to come down inbounds on B’s 1-yard line where he
is downed.
RULING: Touchdown, since A8’s forward progress was stopped over
B’s end zone by B2’s contact. Even though the catch was not made until A8 came
down inbounds,
his forward progress was stopped by B2’s contact resulting in A
possessing the live ball in its opponent’s end zone, hence, a touchdown.


I swear by all that is Holy this is copied directly from the 2009 Fed case book.
This is also irrelevent to my previous post. I understand that if and when he completes the catch it will be a touchdown. However, at the moment he possesses the ball in the air and is pushed back does not equal a TD. If the receiver loses the ball prior to completing the catch, I don't believe you have a TD. Thus, my disagreement with Ed's post.

Last edited by parepat; Wed Nov 11, 2009 at 12:01am.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 10, 2009, 10:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by bisonlj View Post
This play involves forward progress. If he's pushed back but that does not cause the receiver to be downed, forward progress does not apply. Just because a guy gets pushed back, if he gets free from the tackler, he doesn't get credit for the forward progress of the original hit.

Put the crack pipe on the table and step away.

When he touches the ground, the play is complete and we have a TD.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 11, 2009, 09:00am
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
Put the crack pipe on the table and step away.

When he touches the ground, the play is complete and we have a TD.
Amen. Just read the rules and case play cited, and don't overanalyze. That's the problem, is so many times we overanalyze something and we lose focus of what the rule/case play actually says.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High School rule book zebra14 Football 2 Thu Aug 21, 2008 11:39am
High School Rule Book Ref Basketball 10 Mon Jul 02, 2007 08:33pm
NFHS High School Fastpitch bat rule Storm Softball 4 Tue May 25, 2004 05:09pm
NJ High School Ref please give me ther rule redoubtable1 Basketball 15 Sun Mar 28, 2004 08:54pm
High School Rule mvp2jeter Football 5 Mon Sep 15, 2003 10:32am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1