The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 02:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 9
Kick off question

let me run this one by you guys, K gets to kick from team R 30 yd line,(penalties from previous play from B) K pops the ball high and the ball travels 15 yds. to B's 15, one of K's players gets to the ball while the ball is still in air, and jumps for ball, R jumps also, k catches ball but while catching collides with R. No fair catch was called. Whats the rulling? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 02:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 48
When you say k "pops the ball high", did it hit the ground and then pop high or did they kick it high? If it hit the ground, it is K's ball where they gained possession. If it did not hit the ground, you have kick-catching interference. R has the choice of an awarded fair catch the spot of the foul or penalize K 15 yards and rekick.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 02:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 9
no it did not hit the ground.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 07:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
jstafan: you seem to have some real interest in the rules of the game (as opposed to mere fan interest). Why not contact your local association, get a rule book, and pick up some stripes?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 10:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 6
This is a basic "kick catching interference". K cannot touch the ball on a free kick prior to the ball touching the ground or a R player.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 03, 2009, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 236
Free Kick must go 10 yards and touch the ground before K can recover legally. If R touches it (unless R was blocked/pushed by K into the ball) before it goes 10 yards then K can recover.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Kick question (free kick) referee20 Football 15 Wed Sep 16, 2009 08:14pm
Question on Free Kick AZ Line Judge Football 28 Wed Oct 22, 2008 01:22pm
scrimmage kick question. BigFarns Football 9 Thu Sep 21, 2006 04:12pm
Scrimmage kick question Illini_Ref Football 4 Sat Sep 24, 2005 04:39pm
Kick off question buffalo_frenchy Football 10 Fri Oct 10, 2003 01:01am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1