The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 31, 2009, 02:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
You are nearly correct about DPI, though the restriction applies to the neutral zone, not the line of scrimmage: "Pass interference restrictions only apply beyond the neutral zone and only if the legal forward pass, untouched by B in or behind the neutral zone, crosses the neutral zone."

The penalty for DPI is 15 yards plus an automatic 1st down. If everything you said is correct, then the officials either:
a) got the conditions and enforcement of DPI wrong (2 major errors)
b) gave the wrong signal for some other foul.

The only foul which would yield the result that you describe is a dead-ball PF or USC foul.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 31, 2009, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 9
Thanks for the replys. Thanks for setting me stright on the neutral zone vs the line of scrimmage. mbyron after reading your reply you have given me another question. if the ball was tipped on the pass behind the los and the ball travels past the neutral zone, can there be a dpi past the nz?

Just talk to a friend that was running the chains on that game and he said that, on that play he ask the line judge about that and the LJ said that it was not a automatic 1st down in high school. Not sure where he would have got that from because its deffinetly a first down.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 31, 2009, 06:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
No, a tip behind the NZ ends the pass interference restrictions.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 31, 2009, 08:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Not only that, but how, on a penalty accepted by the offense, did the down advance from 3rd to 4th?

Maybe it was actually a dead ball foul by team B after 3rd down ended in an incomplete pass. Maybe the official wasn't too clear about where he was holding his hands and what looked like interference (hands in front) was actually unsportsmanlike conduct (hands out to sides).

Last edited by Robert Goodman; Sat Oct 31, 2009 at 08:14pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 31, 2009, 10:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 341
Quote:
Just talk to a friend that was running the chains on that game and he said that, on that play he ask the line judge about that and the LJ said that it was not a automatic 1st down in high school.
Two obvious things wrong with this statement.

1) Based on normal positions, if the guy on the chains asked the line judge a question, was it after the game or did he scream across the field at him?

2) If a legitimate game official said DPI did not include an automatic first down, he is either incompetent, they are using a different set of rules than NFHS or there was a misunderstanding.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 02, 2009, 02:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 9
thanks for the replys everybody. as for " Based on normal positions, if the guy on the chains asked the line judge a question, was it after the game or did he scream across the field at him?" it was the ref to his side and apparently it was right after play. and for "If a legitimate game official said DPI did not include an automatic first down, he is either incompetent, they are using a different set of rules than NFHS or there was a misunderstanding." I think after talking to everyone they just blew that call because nobody seems to understand why they would have inforced a dpi the way they did. They also go by NFHS rules. Or as Robert Goodman suggests that maybe another call was called ie dead ball foul or usc call and the other refs misunderstood. But on that play I can only say that me or nobody else seen anything other than a dpi (behind the neutural zone) which should not have resulted in a foul at all. but i will also agree that i didnt have the advantage that the refs did ( as being right on top of the play) even if all that was true again like good ol rob pointed out if the offense accepted the pently why did the down change? thanks again all.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 02, 2009, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
not only did they didn't award the auto 1st, they lost a down. it went from 3rd to 4th! If anything they should have replayed 3rd down.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blown call gone bad.... NM FP Ump Softball 29 Tue Jul 15, 2008 08:55am
Blown Call bjudge Football 70 Mon Oct 04, 2004 09:10am
U2 Blown Call Cubbies87 Baseball 17 Tue May 04, 2004 11:56am
was it a blown call? Ruben Trinidad Basketball 11 Sat Feb 17, 2001 09:16pm
was this a blown call papa bear Football 9 Sat Oct 28, 2000 09:13pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1