The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
Right, unless this is a scrimmage kick (FG) formation, in which case he would be ineligible.
No.

If it is a scrimmage kick formation meeting Rule 7-2-5b, the snapper could be eligible if he is on the end of the line and has an eligible number. Depending on the down, you could have other players with eligible numbers that are in under the numbering exception. This is covered in Rule 7-2-5.

Definitely, if the snapper is on the end of the line, he is not in under the numbering exception and if he has an eligible number, he is an eligible receiver.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppaltice View Post
No.

If it is a scrimmage kick formation meeting Rule 7-2-5b, the snapper could be eligible if he is on the end of the line and has an eligible number. Depending on the down, you could have other players with eligible numbers that are in under the numbering exception. This is covered in Rule 7-2-5.

Definitely, if the snapper is on the end of the line, he is not in under the numbering exception and if he has an eligible number, he is an eligible receiver.
Not sure if I agree with your interpretation of rule 7-2-5b excep. 1. I believe the intent of this rule is to make the snapper ineligble. Two reasons. #1 - why even have this rule if Team A could always justify that their snapper was eligible by saying that another lineman was using the numbering exception. #2 - to qoute the rule "if Team A has the snapper in the game under this exception, Team A shal have at least four players wearing numbers 50-79 on its line of scrimmage". The key words to me are "at least". This means that Team A could have 5 or 6 linemen numbered 50-79 in on this field goal formation, but the snapper is still ineligible and cannot be on the end of the LOS. I believe that if it is a 1st, 2nd, or 3rd down field goal formation, the snapper can be whatever number but will need to be between the ends and is an ineligible pass receiver unless the pass is touched by B. Still, it will be worth some discussion at our next meeting.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWIG View Post
Not sure if I agree with your interpretation of rule 7-2-5b excep. 1. I believe the intent of this rule is to make the snapper ineligble. Two reasons. #1 - why even have this rule if Team A could always justify that their snapper was eligible by saying that another lineman was using the numbering exception. #2 - to qoute the rule "if Team A has the snapper in the game under this exception, Team A shal have at least four players wearing numbers 50-79 on its line of scrimmage". The key words to me are "at least". This means that Team A could have 5 or 6 linemen numbered 50-79 in on this field goal formation, but the snapper is still ineligible and cannot be on the end of the LOS. I believe that if it is a 1st, 2nd, or 3rd down field goal formation, the snapper can be whatever number but will need to be between the ends and is an ineligible pass receiver unless the pass is touched by B. Still, it will be worth some discussion at our next meeting.
The intent of the rule is to ban the A11 offense.

The original intent of the numbering exception for scrimmage kick formations was so that:
1) If the team's long snapper was numbered 1-49 or 80-99, he could legally snap the ball in a normal balanced formation, in which he is the center, without sacrificing an eligible receiver by having an end numbered 50-79.
2) If the team was punting, the team could use players numbered 1-49 or 80-99 for the coverage team, as they may be better for the job than normal linemen.

After teams starting taking advantage of this rule on every snap, the numbering exception was re-written.
Exception 1 allows the long snapper to have an eligible number in a balanced formation for field goals, without a fifth player numbered 50-79.
Exception 2 allows for any player to have an eligible number on 4th down, for the punting situation.

If the snapper is not between the ends, he is by definition not in the game under the numbering exception. He's eligible by number and position. There are five linemen numbered 50-79. The formation and numbering are legal.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 09, 2009, 01:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullycon View Post




If the snapper is not between the ends, he is by definition not in the game under the numbering exception. He's eligible by number and position. There are five linemen numbered 50-79. The formation and numbering are legal.
The rule states " The snapper in the game under this exception must be between the ends". The rule does not state "the snapper must be between the ends to be in the game under the numbering exception".


The definition of 7-2-5b excep 1 is that the snapper may be numbered 1-49 or 80-99 on a 1st, 2nd, or 3rd down scrimmage kick only if...1. field goal formation, 2. he is not on the end of the line.

Last edited by CWIG; Fri Oct 09, 2009 at 01:50pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal Formation ChicagoLJ Football 21 Wed Oct 07, 2009 09:51am
illegal formation? yankeesfan Football 11 Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:45pm
NFL Illegal Formation Suudy Football 11 Mon Oct 23, 2006 03:44pm
illegal formation? yankeesfan Football 35 Mon Oct 03, 2005 09:16pm
Illegal Formation or Illegal participation? wgw Football 9 Mon Aug 29, 2005 09:31am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1