![]() |
|
|||
Momentum on a kickoff
I'm drawing a mind blank here so hopefully someone can help me out....
K kicks deep and catches the ball over his shoulder at his own 2 yard line. Before he can get turned around he A. runs into his own endzone and B. is tackled there. Is this a touchback or does momentum apply and it comes back out to the 2 yard line? We've argued this in circles and wanted to bring it to this group. Thanks!! |
|
|||
The momentum exception: When a defensive player intercepts an opponent’s forward pass; intercepts or recovers an opponent’s fumble or backward pass; or an R player catches or recovers a scrimmage kick or free kick between his 5-yard line and the goal line, and his original momentum carries him into the end zone where the ball is declared dead in his team’s possession or it goes out of bounds in the end zone, the ball belongs
to the team in possession at the spot where the pass or fumble was intercepted or recovered or the kick was caught or recovered. Bring the ball back to the two. Once the player gained possession the kick ended and you could no longer have a touchback. |
|
|||
Are you sure he had possession at the 2?
![]() If you're sure, place the ball at the 2. If he might not have actually had possession until he crossed the goal line, bring it out to the 20. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
I agree if you're sure. Otherwise bring it out to the 20...Jim
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Another Momentum Exception | Ed Hickland | Football | 5 | Tue Aug 22, 2006 01:46pm |
Momentum play. | DrMooreReferee | Football | 16 | Sat Jun 10, 2006 12:20pm |
Momentum on punts | trainman52 | Football | 3 | Tue Sep 28, 2004 12:28pm |
Momentum exception or not? | keystoneref | Football | 42 | Tue Aug 31, 2004 06:51am |
Momentum Rule? | GPC2 | Football | 4 | Tue Aug 17, 2004 04:02pm |