![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
5-1-4...Unless first touched by R beyond the neutral zone, if the kickers recover a scrimmage kick in or behind the neutral zone, the ball remains live and belongs to K and the down counts.
K could have advanced the ball beyond the line to gain after their recovery and been awarded a new series but they didn't so the ball should have gone over to R at the K-15. Last edited by kdf5; Wed Sep 16, 2009 at 04:05pm. |
|
|||
|
If the ball was touched beyond the NZ by R - K's ball at the 15.
If the ball was touched behind the NZ by R (which I think happened in your play) - R's ball at the 15 since touching is ignored behind the Expanded NZ on all scrimmage kicks. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
R first touching this kick after it rolls back behind the NZ counts as the same in principle.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Thanks for the help guys (minus BigJohn's useless comment). It was a soph game where K was down 48-0 with running time in the 4th quarter so luckily the call didn't affect the outcome. Also, the touching by R was very close to the neutral zone on the sideline with no official on it (3 person mechanics, LJ was back with receivers) so we didn't have a great look at where the ball was touched by R. Nonetheless, should have been R ball, glad I asked this question.
OK, same play but 5 person mechanics varsity, and the LJ gets a good look at where R touched. Say he touched very close to or at the neutral zone, it's bang bang. You are the LJ and it's totally your decision whether it is beyond or behind NZ. Which way do you lean? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I'd lean to touched behind the NZ.
__________________
Mike Sears |
|
|||
|
provided such kick has
been touched by a receiver who was clearly beyond the neutral zone at the time of touching. Also, doesn't the LJ release in 5 man mechanics, leaving this call to the L & the U? http://football.refs.org/mechanics/punt5.html Last edited by bigjohn; Thu Sep 17, 2009 at 09:36am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
(H)L makes this call alone. U isn't moving up to line of scrimmage on a punt play.
__________________
Mike Sears |
|
|||
|
Quote:
So: I agree with mikesears, and lean toward "behind the NZ."
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
The only thing I can think of in the rules of football that happens simultaneously is a simultaneous catch, which is clearly defined. Rules are designed to separate black from white, yes from no, is from isn't. Like the word "Pregnant" there's only is, or isn't and nothing inbetween. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Punt | ML99 | Football | 13 | Tue Apr 22, 2008 01:35pm |
| punt | yankeesfan | Football | 2 | Sun Oct 16, 2005 05:53pm |
| FG used as punt | cougarcoach | Football | 18 | Fri Oct 07, 2005 12:59pm |
| punt situation | csuram | Football | 1 | Tue Sep 14, 2004 02:44pm |
| punt situation | csuram | Football | 18 | Mon Sep 13, 2004 11:09am |