![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Give them this one (funny - this came up in a game twice this week!).
A has two guys in motion at the snap. The officials kills the play right after the snap (an error, yes). Before he kills it and rules it a dead ball foul, the snap is fumbled and B recovers. One official (an old vet) says there obviously was a lot of confusion on the part of the offense so you may as well kill the play since you're going to have a foul anyway. I simply pointed out that by killing the play (and going against the rule) he just took the ball away from B. He said, "Oh, I never thought of that." Here's the way I look at it. If you're gonna do this job, you might as well do it right. If you don't want to do it right - then don't do it. |
|
|||
|
With illegal formations, I would tell them that A could always shift into a correct formation and if A does not, it would be a foul occuring simultaneously with the snap. Then, cite the fundamental that no live ball foul causes the ball to become dead.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Live Ball Treated as Dead Ball Foul | GPC2 | Football | 9 | Tue Aug 21, 2007 11:04am |
| Thrown Elbow - Live Ball vs. Dead Ball | rfp | Basketball | 19 | Sun Nov 12, 2006 05:15am |
| Foul Tip: Dead or Live Ball | Gorkes | Baseball | 4 | Mon Jul 21, 2003 05:29am |
| LIVE BALL/ DEAD BALL INFO | johnfox | Basketball | 1 | Mon Oct 08, 2001 12:44pm |