The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 25, 2009, 09:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: midwest/plains
Posts: 402
Question

The old way: Kick formation 10 men. 6 on the line 4 in the backfield. 4 backfield and 2 on the end are ellgible. But because of the illegal formation foul its all a wash anyway.

The new way: kick formation on a kick down 10 men, 6 on the line 4 in the backfield. There are still 6 elliglible recievers but now no foul for formation...

So a new "trick play" could be to send out 10 on your kick team, send out an elligible 'tackle' and score with what used to be an illegal formation.

Am I understanding this correctly?


PS (Before anyone asks, I have no connection with the A-11 and vehemently opposed it from its conception to its bitter death)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jul 25, 2009, 09:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Your "trick" formation might look like this then, where 56 is the snapper:

()
24 44 56 53 80 34

33 40 14

2

It's been reported that "RR" says this is a legal SK formation and that his first bulletin will address this. I'll believe when I see it in print at the NCAA web site.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 26, 2009, 07:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
How is this a trick formation? The defense can easily see who the eligibles are and can do whatever it is they need to do to deal with them. Does anyone truly think defenders and coaches are looking to see who the 5 ineligibles are?????? They only care about who IS eligible.

This formation is a legal SKF under the new rules and that will hopefully soon be made clear to everyone.

What could be an issue (although could be rendered moot with a further tweak next year) is the situation where Team A is in a SK situation and shifts players after the snapper is on the ball. In the diagram Tom posted, assume the snapper (#56) gets on the ball. Team A realizes they are short and send #45 into the game, lining up as the right end. As he is doing that #80 shifts such that he is now on the end of the left side of the line. The team sets for a second and ball is snapped. Many (including Rom Gilbert) say there is a foul now as 80 needed to stay covered up as he became a numbering exception once the snapper got on the ball. I disagree but I am wrong, by rule.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 26, 2009, 07:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 97
The numbering exceptions are set once the center buts his hands on or near the ball. Once a numbering exception, always a numbering exception. So I would be a foul.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 26, 2009, 08:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
Not saying that is not true. Just saying that if Team A "chooses" to play with 10 or less, then what real advantage are they gaining by loosening up the numbering exception?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 26, 2009, 10:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
While we (my study group) were discussing this formation it just was not clear in the rule wording whether A-24 is the exception or not because if he is the exception, he can't be on the end of the line. Some of us are not convinced one way or the other, and that's not good. The start of the season is not that far away, I want to know the ruling before it happens in a game.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 26, 2009, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
The exceptions are those who are in between the ends when the snapper gets on the ball, regardless of whether there are 5 of them or none of them.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 26, 2009, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
I disagree with you guys about it being a needed or welcome change. I agree 10 vs. 11 isn't an advantage, however I'm afraid this might open up an opportunity for a late player addition and shift that WOULD create an advantage. We will have to be diligent of the substitution rules in addition to this. I think it might have been better to write in an exception to the 7 man on the line rule if there were fewer than 11 players on the field on the play and no more than 4 in the backfield.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 26, 2009, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,305
If Team A subs late you are hoilding them up and letting Team B sub to match up so what is the advantage? And like I said, if the snapper is over the ball and there is a shift involving a numbering exception player, he still has to be in an ineligible position at the snap. Give us a play scenario where Team A gets an advantage as a result of this rule change.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Rule change? - Question #57 NCAA Test ljudge Football 2 Wed Jun 04, 2008 10:21am
NCAA Rule Change Canfootball52 Football 6 Tue Aug 21, 2007 08:25am
Help on NCAA rule change Jesse James Basketball 1 Wed Aug 30, 2006 06:27am
NCAA Men's Rule change and mechanics questions ref0909 Basketball 6 Sun Jul 13, 2003 04:43am
NCAA Rule Change bob jenkins Basketball 1 Thu Dec 28, 2000 07:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1