The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2009, 08:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 150
scrimmage kick play

K's ball 4th and 10 at their own 12. K is punting. The snap is a bad one and never makes it back to the punter. The ball is almost completely at rest at K's 5 when R55 muffs it in an attempt to secure possession. The muffed ball then ends up in K's endzone, where K15 picks it up and tries to punt. However, R72 blocks the punt and the ball sails out the back of K's endzone.

Ruling??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2009, 09:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Safety.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2009, 10:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 150
Are you sure?

We had a discussion about this play last night. And it was said that since the force that put the ball into K's EZ was supplied by R, then K didn't have to get the ball out. And even though K did kick the ball, it never came back out of the endzone. Therefore, I have folks in my association who are saying this is actually a touchback and not a safety. I'm just not sure myself.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2009, 11:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
If K kicks from the 1 and it's blocked out of the back of the endzone, that's not a safety?
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2009, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
If K kicks from the 1 and it's blocked out of the back of the endzone, that's not a safety?
Under your scenario, you have have no new force and a safety. Under the original scenario, you have a new force and under 8-5-3 (c) I think you have a touch back.

Quote:
A fumble is the force, or a muff or bat of a backward pass or a fumble after either has touched the ground is the new force, which sends the ball to or across the opponent’s goal line and provided such opponent is in team possession or the ball is out of bounds when it becomes dead on or behind
its goal line.
In the original scenario you have a muff of a grounded fumble and there is no change of possession in the play so A is still in possession when the ball becomes dead behind the goal line.

I haven't given it too much thought, so if I missed something please let me have it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2009, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 156
I don't think the answer to this is obvious. It depends on whether the kick makes it back into the field of play. The ball was forced into K's EZ by R and the ball went out of bounds, so by Rule 8-5-3c. That is the force that puts the ball initially into the EZ. But if K kicks the ball and the ball travels back into the field of play (out of the EZ) and subsequently returns to the EZ and goes OOB, then K is responsible for the force that put the ball into the EZ and it is a safety (8-5-2b). If the kick never makes it out of the EZ, it is a touchback.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2009, 11:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Bloomington, IL
Posts: 1,319
Touchback. Force can only cause the ball to travel INTO and endzone from the field of play. In your play, R supplied the force that put the ball into K's endzone. (But it would have to be totally obvious that the ball wasn't going into an endzone for me to rule this).

Once the ball is in the endzone, we can't have a new force (unless it comes back out and then goes back in again). K could throw a backwards pass across the end line while in the end zone and the result would be the same.
__________________
Mike Sears
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 16, 2009, 12:49pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrMooreReferee View Post
K's ball 4th and 10 at their own 12. K is punting. The snap is a bad one and never makes it back to the punter. The ball is almost completely at rest at K's 5 when R55 muffs it in an attempt to secure possession. The muffed ball then ends up in K's endzone, where K15 picks it up and tries to punt. However, R72 blocks the punt and the ball sails out the back of K's endzone.

Ruling??
CANADIAN RULING:

Team A 1D/10 @ A-20. (to be confirmed)
__________________
Pope Francis

Last edited by JugglingReferee; Thu Jul 16, 2009 at 07:46pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
scrimmage kick play MJT Football 3 Tue Oct 16, 2007 04:16pm
Scrimmage kick play chayos Football 20 Mon Aug 21, 2006 11:13pm
Scrimmage Kick Play jack015 Football 4 Sat Aug 19, 2006 07:57am
Scrimmage Kick Play with IW jack015 Football 18 Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:31am
and yet another scrimmage kick play James Neil Football 14 Mon Jan 06, 2003 09:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1