![]() |
|
|
|||
Wrong.
2-16-2a Types of fouls are: Dead ball-a foul which occurs in the time interval after a down has ended and before the ball has is next snapped or free kicked. (example: false start) 2-16-2i Simultaneous with the snap-an act which becomes a foul when the ball is snapped or free kicked. (example: illegal motion) The motion is not a foul until the snap (simultaneous). A player could go in motion toward the line and then change his direction away from the line before the snap and it would be ok. It is the snap that makes the motion toward the line a foul. This has nothing to do with a dead ball foul. Last edited by Forksref; Tue May 26, 2009 at 07:43am. |
|
|||
I guess one could however say that an illegal snap is a dead ball foul that only occurs simultaneously with the snap.
There was some discussion with the 'wrong ball' type illegal trick plays, or where the fake substitutions are used to confuse the defense. Some people said that we let the play stand and call it back, but others said that we should shut it down at the snap. I don't think there was a general consensus about which way to handle it, and each crew/chapter/association should have their own guideline. |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
This play should be shutdown immediately primarily to avoid confusion. If you let it go someone may question why an unsportsmanlike foul is being enforced from the previous spot. |
|
|||
I guess one could however say that an illegal snap is a dead ball foul that only occurs simultaneously with the snap.
Wrong. 2-40-1 A snap is the legal act of passing the ball backward from the position of the ground. It can't be simultaneous with the snap (which is legal) when you have an illegal snap. They are 2 different things. You can't have an illegal snap and a snap on the same play. It all goes back to definitions. I like the old expression: READ RULE 2 |
|
|||
Another simultaneous snap foul
Another one that commonly confuses officials, around here anyway is the illegal formation foul. A formation is only illegal when the ball is snapped, therefore it is a simultaneous with the snap - live ball, foul. Around here I think officials get confused because the foul signal is the same as for a false start, so they kill it.
In a conversation with one of the younger officials this past fall he asked me, "Why not just go ahead and kill it since the play can't stand anyway?" Well, if the defense gets a sack they'll likely decline the penalty, or if there is a change of possession, or if the defense makes it a double foul, then the offense gets saved the yardage...ya know all of those reasons why no live-ball foul causes the ball to become dead. Things you can blow dead prior to the snap: (FEDUI) False Start Encroachment Delay of Game USC Illegal Substitution (Replaced player not leaving immediately aka 12 men in the huddle, player leaves the field on wrong line) Each of those is a foul in itself without relation to a snap, that is what makes them dead ball fouls. |
|
|||
I think what you're missing in Ref's response is his implication you can't have both a snap (which makes the ball live) and a dead ball foul (which prevents the ball from becoming live) in the same "action". Clearly you know this, but I think Ref was trying to get Brandon to figure that out by looking at what he was asking.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Dead ball fouls | kytank | Football | 10 | Wed Oct 08, 2008 02:24pm |
Dead ball fouls prior to the snap | kentref | Football | 7 | Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:49am |
Dead Ball Fouls | mvp2jeter | Football | 4 | Mon Sep 29, 2003 10:13am |
marking off 2 dead ball fouls | otis3zeb | Football | 5 | Tue Sep 09, 2003 07:52am |
Dead ball fouls and clock | Warrenkicker | Football | 13 | Thu Aug 21, 2003 01:11am |