![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Apology accepted ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Let me jump right in! So you don't get off on the wrong foot, there is no situation in NFHS football where a penalty causes the ball to become dead or "blown dead" as you stated. Source: Football Fundamental IX. 1) No live ball foul causes the ball to become dead. While this is not the case in other codes of football, it is most certainly the case in NFHS.
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber ![]() |
|
|||
maybe this has already been mentioned....
becuase of the previous pissing match, I glazed over many of the posts...As a wing, if a player is covered up, I say the number of the covered up player, aloud to myself, to remind me to be aware of: 1. If the play begins as a pass, I locate that covered up player, and 2: when ball is passed over the neutral zone, will throw the flag if he is downfield.
While this forum is of great value to all officials, finding a mentor, talking his ear off while treating him to a meal, is of greater value still. Most experienced officials would love to take an eager, open official under their wing. Good luck, tro |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
By "covered up", he means someone on the line with an eligible number who is supposed to be on the end of the line. But they are not on the end of the line because someone out wide, who should be off the line has messed up and is on the line and therefore "covering him up".
Example:- Formation should be, ..................82..71..68..55..62..77........89 ..84 but #84 messes up and it actually is ..84.............82..71..68..55..62..77........89 so #82 is "covered up" because of #84's mistake.
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum! |
|
|||
Quote:
I would simplify the explanation as a player with an eligible number on the line of scrimmage who is not on the end. |
|
|||
Quote:
i.e. SE TGCGT TE FL the flanker has "covered up" the TE in this formation, thus making him a lineman. As long as he doesn't go downfield (expanded neutral zone) on a pass beyond the NZ or its a running play, he's legal. A power running team will line up like this all night with no problem. To be legally downfield, the formation would need to be thus- SE TGCGT TE FL now the TE is on the end of the line and eligible. Covered up can also happen when a slot receiver lines up incorrectly on the LOS with the end. SE FL TGCGT TE |
|
|||
ART. 6 . . . Pass eligibility rules apply only to a legal forward pass. The
following players are eligible pass receivers: a. All A players eligible by position and number include those who, at the time of the snap, are on the ends of their scrimmage line or legally behind the line (possible total of six) and are numbered 1-49 or 80-99. (See 7-2-5a EXCEPTION) b. All A players become eligible when B touches a legal forward pass. c. All B players are eligible. d. A player who is eligible at the start of the down remains eligible throughout the down. |
|
|||
Quote:
The "covered" player, although still eligible by number, would no longer be eligible by position as he is no longer on the end of the line. |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
You'll excuse me if I take the opportunity to point out WHAT YOU WROTE is poorly worded and misleading, and therefore, by NFHS definition, renders itself to be false and incorrect! Source 2008 NFHS Rule Book Page 82 Football Fundamentals VII. Passes 1.A player who is eligible at the start of a down remains eligible throughout the down. It is just not possible for a player who "...begins a play as an eligible reciever..." to then become "...rendered ineligible..."
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Robert in the Bronx |
|
|||
Quote:
The old idea of "hitting until the whistle" is passé. It must be remembered by coaches and officials that the whistle is only confirmation that a play is over. The play kills itself.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
Waltjp:
I am not sure I understand what you are attempting to say? ![]() While I agree with this years point of emphasis, it has nothing to do with "No live ball foul causes the ball to become dead"
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Ineligible Down Field | F C E | Football | 11 | Wed Oct 24, 2007 02:08pm |
Ineligible or Not? | Simbio | Football | 4 | Wed Sep 26, 2007 05:41pm |
Eligible/Ineligible? | WyMike | Football | 19 | Fri Oct 22, 2004 03:43pm |
Ineligible downfield / OPI | Wes | Football | 10 | Wed Oct 13, 2004 09:45am |
Eligible or ineligible receiver | Derock1986 | Football | 18 | Thu Dec 05, 2002 03:04am |