The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 11, 2009, 08:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Do you think if the rule 9-2-3d read this way it would be better understood.

Defensive players may ward off or legally block an eligible pass receiver until that
player occupies the same yard line as the defender or until the opponent
could not possibly block him. Continuous contact is illegal.

I really like the phrase "until the opponent could not possibly block him." Think about the play where B runs through A2 to get to A1. Or, when eligible A turns back toward the line of scrimmage.

Oh, BTW. From the NCAA Rule Book.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA Rule 8-5-H EFFECT Example Welpe Softball 7 Thu Jun 19, 2008 07:23pm
when does the look-back-rule go into effect after a hit batter BuggBob Softball 17 Wed May 07, 2008 01:01pm
NCAA BOO effect CecilOne Softball 10 Tue Mar 07, 2006 09:35am
Force Still In Effect? chuckfan1 Baseball 17 Thu Nov 10, 2005 06:54pm
Did It effect the Play? PeteBooth Baseball 10 Thu Feb 15, 2001 05:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1