![]() |
|
|
|||
Funny, but I still read illegal use of hands as just that -- allowing the defense to block in any direction as long as they don't use their hands to do so -- and that they can use their hands only to ward off a blocker. I think we already had that discussion; we just parse that passage differently.
Robert in the Bronx |
|
|||
Quote:
NF: 2.3.5.a, advises, "A defensive player may ALSO; (a) Use unlocked hands, hand or arm to ward of an opponent who is blocking him or attempting to block him.". Those actions are in addition to his authority to use either blocking technique defined in 2.3.2.a or b. A generally acceptable assessment of "attempting to block" includes movement of an opponent towards a defensive player in advance of a runner, that ends when that opponent occupies the same yard line (without threatening the defensive player) or advances past, or away from him. In the example of a "button hook" type movement, that motion can either be an effort to move away from the defender, presumably to receive a possible pass, or simply could be an effort to block the defender's path to another position on the field, which reasonably fits the definition of "attempting to block". As is usually the case, the ultimate deciding factor in whether the contact is legal, or not, rests in the judgment of the covering official based on what he has observed. (Excuse me Robert, where in the Bronx?) |
|
|||
The bottom line this is completely a judgment call. In my opinion it takes a few years to get good at recognizing when the rules are truly violated. There is a lot of grey area in this call and there always will be. And when these plays are really close, I will remind a player not to do certain things or they were close. Then again you just have to see more plays and this play will become more obvious.
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
A Picture Is Worth A 1,000 Words
Going through my library found a copy of the 1996 Simplified and Illustrated. Curious, I went to 9-2-3d hopeful of finding an illustration of the rule, especially, being so many people have trouble interpreting this rule.
Sure enough, there it is and it uses the word "chucking" in the explanation. Our Association does not supply the S&I anymore, does anyone have the 2008 copy and can you tell me if the picture of the linebacker chucking the receiver is there for 9-2-3d? Thanks, |
|
|||
Pelham Pkwy was always a nice area, I hope it still is. I grew up in the Highbridge Section, just north of Yankee Stadium. Other than passing by on the train down to Penn Station or taking in an occasional ballgame at the Stadium, I haven't been back in years.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/football/51281-no-longer-potential-blocker.html
|
||||
Posted By | For | Type | Date | |
CoachHuey.com - Coaches' Ignorance | This thread | Refback | Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20pm | |
• View topic - Rules question | This thread | Refback | Fri Sep 14, 2012 10:14am | |
• View topic - Rules question | This thread | Refback | Sat Sep 08, 2012 01:02pm | |
CoachHuey.com - Better Know This Rule... | This thread | Refback | Wed Jul 04, 2012 10:50am | |
CoachHuey.com - Better Know This Rule... | This thread | Refback | Tue May 29, 2012 01:43pm |
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Until what point can you no longer call...? | referee99 | Basketball | 4 | Tue Jan 06, 2009 08:50pm |
When is a swing no longer a strike? | DaveASA/FED | Softball | 5 | Thu May 01, 2008 05:37pm |
Longer Referee Shorts? | imaref | Soccer | 4 | Fri Aug 18, 2006 06:27pm |
Hat Blocker | BuggBob | Softball | 21 | Thu May 26, 2005 05:54am |
Back Row Blocker | Spaman_29 | Volleyball | 6 | Sun Oct 13, 2002 03:27am |