The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack (5) Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  5 links from elsewhere to this Post. Click to view. #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2009, 05:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonofanump View Post
Originally Posted by kdf5
...has gone past or is moving away, it is illegal for the defender to use hands

We have always used this as our guideline.
Would it be illegal use of hands if A does a button hook in front of B and B contacts him before the ball is thrown?
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2009, 05:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Ed: You're saying the receiver runs towards the defender then buttonhooks back towards the line of scrimmage? I guess I can't see a way it would be IUH since the defender's either going to have to hit him in the back or hit him from the side in which case he's not moving away.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2009, 05:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
AJ, there's really no sense arguing with you. With your philosophy you wouldn't last very long on my crew.

End of discussion.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2009, 09:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,130
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdf5 View Post
Ed: You're saying the receiver runs towards the defender then buttonhooks back towards the line of scrimmage? I guess I can't see a way it would be IUH since the defender's either going to have to hit him in the back or hit him from the side in which case he's not moving away.
Have to admit he is no longer a potential blocker as he is turned toward the LOS.

B might commit a BIB but if B executes a side block would you call it an IUH?

If you read the rule as written A is no longer a potential blocker and he is moving away.
__________________
Ed Hickland, MBA, CCP
[email protected]
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2009, 09:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Hickland View Post
Have to admit he is no longer a potential blocker as he is turned toward the LOS.

B might commit a BIB but if B executes a side block would you call it an IUH?

If you read the rule as written A is no longer a potential blocker and he is moving away.
My original vision of your play had B running up from behind a stationary A. I think your twist is you have contact initiated by B as A is still moving toward the LOS and B's catching up to him but I still say either B's going to BIB/IUH or he's going to catch up and be on the same yard line as A in which case you'd have to be there. Nice twist.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 30, 2009, 08:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Funny, but I still read illegal use of hands as just that -- allowing the defense to block in any direction as long as they don't use their hands to do so -- and that they can use their hands only to ward off a blocker. I think we already had that discussion; we just parse that passage differently.

Robert in the Bronx
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 31, 2009, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
allowing the defense to block in any direction as long as they don't use their hands to do so -- and that they can use their hands only to ward off a blocker.
Robert in the Bronx
Under the NF code, NF:2.3.1-3 (legal blocking techniques) apply equally to both offensive and defensive players. 2.3.4 expands what an offensive player may "ALSO" do, while 2.3.5 covers those actions a defensive player may "ALSO" engage in.

NF: 2.3.5.a, advises, "A defensive player may ALSO; (a) Use unlocked hands, hand or arm to ward of an opponent who is blocking him or attempting to block him.". Those actions are in addition to his authority to use either blocking technique defined in 2.3.2.a or b.

A generally acceptable assessment of "attempting to block" includes movement of an opponent towards a defensive player in advance of a runner, that ends when that opponent occupies the same yard line (without threatening the defensive player) or advances past, or away from him.

In the example of a "button hook" type movement, that motion can either be an effort to move away from the defender, presumably to receive a possible pass, or simply could be an effort to block the defender's path to another position on the field, which reasonably fits the definition of "attempting to block".

As is usually the case, the ultimate deciding factor in whether the contact is legal, or not, rests in the judgment of the covering official based on what he has observed.

(Excuse me Robert, where in the Bronx?)
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 31, 2009, 12:24pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
The bottom line this is completely a judgment call. In my opinion it takes a few years to get good at recognizing when the rules are truly violated. There is a lot of grey area in this call and there always will be. And when these plays are really close, I will remind a player not to do certain things or they were close. Then again you just have to see more plays and this play will become more obvious.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 31, 2009, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
(Excuse me Robert, where in the Bronx?)
1 block N of Pelham Pkwy. I grew up 1 block S of Pelham Pkwy.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


LinkBacks (?)
LinkBack to this Thread: https://forum.officiating.com/football/51281-no-longer-potential-blocker.html
Posted By For Type Date
CoachHuey.com - Coaches' Ignorance This thread Refback Mon Jan 14, 2013 10:20pm
• View topic - Rules question This thread Refback Fri Sep 14, 2012 10:14am
• View topic - Rules question This thread Refback Sat Sep 08, 2012 01:02pm
CoachHuey.com - Better Know This Rule... This thread Refback Wed Jul 04, 2012 10:50am
CoachHuey.com - Better Know This Rule... This thread Refback Tue May 29, 2012 01:43pm

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Until what point can you no longer call...? referee99 Basketball 4 Tue Jan 06, 2009 08:50pm
When is a swing no longer a strike? DaveASA/FED Softball 5 Thu May 01, 2008 05:37pm
Longer Referee Shorts? imaref Soccer 4 Fri Aug 18, 2006 06:27pm
Hat Blocker BuggBob Softball 21 Thu May 26, 2005 05:54am
Back Row Blocker Spaman_29 Volleyball 6 Sun Oct 13, 2002 03:27am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1