The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 21, 2009, 11:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
OK, so it sounds like the "first to touch thing" is a fabrication of the color announcers (shocking...).

Simply put, in order to touch it again in NCAA, WR needs to be reestablished and the ball needs to touch an opponent or official first.

Thanks guys for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 21, 2009, 03:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 89
In my book, "Illegal Touching" took place a couple of weeks ago when that umpire grabbed the Cardinal player "down under"....let's not let THAT happen again....
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 21, 2009, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Clinton Township, NJ
Posts: 2,065
REPLY: Also, for Federation, note that even though that WR has fouled by inadvertently going OOB and returning, he does NOT lose his eligibility. That means that if he returns and a pass is thrown to him, and he is pushed by B before the pass gets there, you're going to have a double foul: IP against the offense and DPI against the defense.
__________________
Bob M.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 21, 2009, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by TussAgee11 View Post
OK, so it sounds like the "first to touch thing" is a fabrication of the color announcers (shocking...).

Simply put, in order to touch it again in NCAA, WR needs to be reestablished and the ball needs to touch an opponent or official first.

Thanks guys for the help.
This is not a stupid question at all.
ncaa: As you have just read, those announcers do have it correct.
I don't know what you are driving at with your statement "to touch it again". A receiver does not have to reestablish anything.

example: A80 while running is route down-field steps OOB either before or after the pass is in flight.. B23 tips the ball in his attempt to intercept. A80, while still OOB, leaps into the air, secures possession and comes down in-bounds and is downed.

What do you have? Nothing other then a completed forward pass because a team-B player touched the ball before the team-A player did. note that the team-A player did not have to first come back in-bounds as I think you are suggesting.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 21, 2009, 06:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,219
Send a message via AIM to TussAgee11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theisey View Post
note that the team-A player did not have to first come back in-bounds as I think you are suggesting.
I did suggest that, because I ***-u-med it would be similar to basketball.

Thanks for the info guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal touching Rich Football 7 Tue Sep 16, 2008 05:13pm
Illegal Participation, Illegal Touching, Nothing BoBo Football 13 Thu Nov 01, 2007 02:09pm
Illegal touching or what? gtwbam Football 9 Mon Aug 20, 2007 12:18pm
Illegal touching Tundra Ref Football 4 Sat Sep 04, 2004 11:52am
Illegal Touching and OPI mikesears Football 26 Tue Jul 08, 2003 12:02pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1