![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|||
basic question (sorry) about spot of ball post holding call...
Hi,
First post here, and sorry if I am asking very basic stuff (which I am) - I have looked on the NFL Rulebook but seem to be missing something obvious. My question: Team A has 2nd and 10, ball on the A30 yd line. They rush 20yds to midfield, but there is offensive holding by a player at A45. What is down and distance for the next play? I am confused because in the NFL Rulebook they give the following example: "A.R. 14.4 Second-and-10 on A30. Runner A1 is downed on the A40. An offensive player illegally uses his hands on the A35. Ruling: The offensive foul is behind the basic spot (spot where downed). Penalize from the spot of the foul (A35). A’s ball second-and-15 on A25." So does this mean in my example the ball should be placed on the A35 ie penalize 10yds from spot of foul? Would it be 2nd and 5? That just doesn't sound right. And if the run had been for say 40yds to the B30, and the holding had occurred on B40, what then? The more I run examples through my head the more confused I seem to be getting! Last edited by nmayhew; Mon Jan 12, 2009 at 08:10am. Reason: edited bacause inadvertently posted before completing post |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Defense Holding- Spot of enforcement | BoBo | Football | 6 | Tue Oct 17, 2006 12:44pm |
Basic Spot | dumbref | Football | 24 | Mon Sep 11, 2006 02:14am |
Basic Spot | Rackster | Football | 3 | Sun Sep 21, 2003 11:34pm |
Play for discussion. (Basic-spot) | ramaris | Football | 4 | Sun Sep 14, 2003 01:15pm |
Basic spot for facemask fouls | lawref | Football | 6 | Thu Sep 04, 2003 01:33pm |