The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2009, 10:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullycon View Post
My coworker had this question about the Colts-Chargers game and I wasn't sure exactly what the answer was.

On the Chargers final punt of the game, he believes that the Chargers player gained control of the ball while airborne, and that his foot hit the pylon before any part of his body hit the ground.

Now, I don't remember the replay of this punt, so I don't know exactly what happened. Just going by the one fuzzy video I saw on YouTube, I don't think he's right, but whatever. So forgetting the actual play, if the above scenario occurred, what is the ruling? Touchback? Or Colts ball on their own 1?

For the purposes of this discussion, the ball never breaks the plane of the goalline. The player never touches the ground in the endzone. The player jumps from the field of play, recovers the ball in the air after it has touched the ground at least once, and before he lands in bounds or out of bounds, his foot touches the pylon.

On a side note: I am correct that in both NFHS and NCAA the ball is dead at the point where it is recovered, 1st and 10 from the 1, right?
Your friend did not get a very good look at that play if that's the way he described it. I'm a Colts fan and have the game on DVR so I just watched that play again. A Chargers player does attemt to recover the ball while it was on the ground and rolling out of bounds (he was not airborn). From the only angle they provided, you don't get a great look at it but it appears the ball hit out of bounds at the 1 before he recovered it. As he continuned his momentum out of bounds (all while still on the ground), he does hit the pylon but it was after the ball became dead either by touching out of bounds or being recovered by a defender on the ground and then out of bounds. This was no doubt a dead ball at the 1.

To answer our hypothetical, if the player recovers the ball while airborn and then touches the pylon on the way down, I believe that is a touchback at all levels.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two Punts on the Same Play? FredFan7 Football 5 Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:16pm
White Hat position on Punts BigGref Football 5 Sat Oct 08, 2005 05:57pm
blocked punts Harv17 Football 2 Sun Sep 11, 2005 06:41pm
Momentum on punts trainman52 Football 3 Tue Sep 28, 2004 12:28pm
Punts & Umpires sm_bbcoach Football 22 Wed Jul 07, 2004 06:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1