The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2009, 11:18pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
in HS it would be a touchback- its where the ball is, not the player.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 214
Is the pylon part of the ground? Can't you be above the endzone and bat the ball back into the field of play? If a player is trying to bat the ball back and kicks the pylon on his way up, is he considered to have touched the ground in the endzone?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigTex View Post
Is the pylon part of the ground? Can't you be above the endzone and bat the ball back into the field of play? If a player is trying to bat the ball back and kicks the pylon on his way up, is he considered to have touched the ground in the endzone?
I've never heard the pylon as technically part of the ground, but it is considered out of bounds. Under Fed, during a kick the ball is dead as soon as it crosses the plane of the goal line so assuming the ball is in the end zone, you can't bat it back even if you never touched the end zone.

If the K player touches the pylon on the way up, he is technically out of bounds. If he then participates in the play, he is guilty of illegal participation which is a 15-yard penalty. Your example brings up an interesting thought though. He technically never returned to the field since I assume he continued his momentum out of bounds so I don't know that you can penalize him for illegal participation. I guess you could still consider him out of bounds and thus the ball is dead because it touched something out of bounds. The in-bounds spot would be the foremost point of the ball when it crossed the sideline. If that was beyond the plane of the goal line, it would be a touchback. Otherwise it would a very long field for R. I'd be curious to hear the thoughts of those smarter than me.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 05:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by HLin NC View Post
in HS it would be a touchback- its where the ball is, not the player.
In the original post, I said the ball never breaks the plane.

The airborne K player recovers the ball, and while still airborne, his foot strikes the pylon. He then carries the ball out of bounds at the 1. The ball never breaks the plane of the goal line. In NFHS, this is R ball at the 1, because the position of the player doesn't matter.

In NFL, I'm wondering if striking the pylon technically puts the runner in the endzone, and therefore a touchback. Looks like most people think the answer is yes.

Thanks for the responses, everyone.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 10:13pm
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
I think that is what I said conceerning the NFL. I referenced the Fed situation to answer your last question in the post.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 06, 2009, 11:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullycon View Post
In the original post, I said the ball never breaks the plane.

The airborne K player recovers the ball, and while still airborne, his foot strikes the pylon. He then carries the ball out of bounds at the 1. The ball never breaks the plane of the goal line. In NFHS, this is R ball at the 1, because the position of the player doesn't matter.

In NFL, I'm wondering if striking the pylon technically puts the runner in the endzone, and therefore a touchback. Looks like most people think the answer is yes.

Thanks for the responses, everyone.
The position of the player does not matter in relation to the end zone. But it does matter that this player is out of bounds when he contacts the ball. The ball is out of bounds when it contacts that player and the ball will be placed at the inbounds spot. I assume that is somewhere between the goal line and the 1 since you said the ball never reached the goal line. It's irrelevant where he lands because the ball is dead as soon as he touches it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 07, 2009, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by bisonlj View Post
The position of the player does not matter in relation to the end zone. But it does matter that this player is out of bounds when he contacts the ball. The ball is out of bounds when it contacts that player and the ball will be placed at the inbounds spot. I assume that is somewhere between the goal line and the 1 since you said the ball never reached the goal line. It's irrelevant where he lands because the ball is dead as soon as he touches it.
Agreed. (I agree with the entire post, but the red part is the crux.)
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two Punts on the Same Play? FredFan7 Football 5 Mon Oct 31, 2005 11:16pm
White Hat position on Punts BigGref Football 5 Sat Oct 08, 2005 05:57pm
blocked punts Harv17 Football 2 Sun Sep 11, 2005 06:41pm
Momentum on punts trainman52 Football 3 Tue Sep 28, 2004 12:28pm
Punts & Umpires sm_bbcoach Football 22 Wed Jul 07, 2004 06:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1