View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 05, 2009, 07:56pm
HLin NC HLin NC is offline
Chain of Fools
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,648
My understanding of NFL rules is that they consider a kick in the EZ if a K player touches the ball while in the EZ, no matter the location of the ball.

Consider this: we've probably all seen an NFL punt play where the gunner tries to bat the ball back but his foot is touching in the EZ even though the ball has not broken the plane. They will rule a touchback.

The pylon is out of bounds IN the endzone. The side of the pylon facing the opposing goal should be even with the goal line plane. When his foot touched the pylon, he was in the EZ and thus, I believe, under their rules would be a touchback. I don't recall this play.
Reply With Quote