![]() |
|
|
|||
I think if this player did not participate in the previous down, you have rule support from case book play 1.5.1G (a) to send the player off to have it corrected. If he did participate and you know for a fact he did, you don't have much choice on this by rule.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
I agree except I would state, "I think if we did not specifically see this player participate on the previous down, and if we did not specifically see during at time that the equipment was missing..." Heck, with a coach like this, I wouldn't put it past him to have stolen the pad on the last play.
__________________
Dan |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
Pope Francis |
|
|||
As a referee, I would stop the play and send the kicker off to get a new tailbone pad. This is a safety foul and it needs to be fixed before the next play, but the 15yard USC is overkill. Lets not forget, we're out there to insure the players safety and to proveide a fair contest. We need to look for ways to have a good game and NOT impact the outcome.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
This one has my head spinning as to exactly how I would have handled that situation. Think about what you would do if a player ran out on the field without his helmet. I'm thinking I would tell him that he forgot his helmet and go get it. If he replaced someone and became a "player", by rule this would now he a penalty under 1.5.5. Would the opposing coach have demanded a penalty for that? I really don't think so. However, for some reason I think I would treat the tail pad differently and enforce the 15 yard USC. I certainly don't look for tail pads, but if it's brought to my attention then I have no choice. I certainly wouldn't start inspecting the other team for some violation or other. We could spend the rest of the night doing that. How many of you would consider the fact that he participated in the previous down without the required equipment. Could the TD be called back at this point? Why is the rule 5 yards during a play, but 15 after?
__________________
Tom |
|
|||
Quote:
It's a tough spot to be in but unless you decide to willfully set aside a rule I don't see what else you can do.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
This is a garbage statement. We're officials and we're out there to enforce the rules, not to invoke our sense of fairness. Sometimes you have to make the game impacting call. Sometimes you have to enforce a rule that impacts the game. If you're not willing to make the call or enforce the rule that will impact the game you may as well stay home because you're not doing your job.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
Quote:
I've been starting to dabble in DIII JV games. I've taken a lot of great high level concepts from the meetings I've been to. One of them is "not to be a pioneer"-don't look for inventive ways to enforce the rules. Another is "make the foul matter if your going to enforce if it's in a close game"...in other words don't be too technical in close games. Yes, we may impact the outcome of a game, but it has to matter to the game. The equipment rules are there to insure the safety of the players. If the coach notices that a piece of equipment is missing, you should thank him for his attention to detail, stop the game to fix the problem then play on. The absence of a tailpad didn't give one team an advantage over the other...why have a game decidd because an official decided that he was going to lay down the law and mak an example of a situation. At the end of the day, I'd rather be known as the offical that used good prudent judgement it that situation to address an issue in a non-impactful way as opposed to an official that knocked a team out of field goal range because of a missing tailbone pad. I'd venture a guess that 9 out of 10 coaches would agree that is the proper way to handle this foul. |
|
|||
Quote:
That is a myth spread by TV announcers. Everything the officials do the entire game impacts the outcome. |
|
|||
I agree with 2 key points stated so far:
1. This is a crap tactic by the coach who's asking for the penalty. 2. If the opposing team wants to avoid being "victimized" by such tactics, all they have to do is follow the rules. That said, I can't see a way to avoid assessing the penalty here. The closest thing would be to say that I didn't see the player participate without the pad on the previous play. But if I knew he did participate -- if he's the QB, for instance -- it's just not plausible to say that somehow he lost the pad after the play. So in the end I'd probably do what the R did in this game: assess the penalty and let the chips fall where they may. I agree with Luke's philosophy of enforcing the rules, at least up to the standards set by my state and my association.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
But more important for football is a missing tailbone protector can subject the player to the possibility of permanent paralysis. I would rather be criticized for "over officiating" than being light on player protection. |
|
|||
Go back and read my post again. That's not even close to what I wrote and it's not relevant to the situation.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! Last edited by waltjp; Thu Oct 30, 2008 at 04:49pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
I have no problem making the big call when it is warrented. I do have a problem making a tickey tackey call that will impact the outcome of a game. You never answered one of my questions. Had the coach not raised this as an issue (and you noticed on your own) would you have flagged it as a USC or would you have warned the player and made him become uniform compliant? Unless you would have thrown the flag without the coach promping you to do so, you got talked into a call. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Team USA Softball Loss After Missing Home Plate? | kyleflan | Softball | 4 | Fri Aug 29, 2008 08:10am |
outfielder puts up two hands | BEAREF | Baseball | 4 | Tue Jul 29, 2008 06:36pm |
Block at the end puts team in championship game | Mark Padgett | General / Off-Topic | 0 | Sat Apr 05, 2008 11:39am |
Playoffs | drh898 | Football | 34 | Sun Dec 09, 2007 09:37pm |
NBA Playoffs | rockyroad | Basketball | 73 | Sat May 05, 2007 07:52am |