![]() |
|
|
|||
I'd be sorely tempted to...."OK coach, but since you saw fit not to bring a safety issue up when you knew it was there, I'm also about to go thru every one of your players to see how many equipment violations I can find. Do we really want to go there?"
|
|
|||
Since when do we allow coaches to point out the fouls that we call. Let them complain all they want, but if they insist then call a timeout and check everyone of their players to. I guarantee you that we can find something wrong. There's just know way, if I didn't find fault during the pregame walk thru, that I then penalized them at the end of the game like that. Let alone, flag it because a coach points it out. We'll do the officiating and let them do the coaching.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
And if you're not calling a foul at the end of the game, what are you going to do? Allow this player to play when you know he isn't legal? That isn't a good idea. Your best choice would be to call the foul, if teams don't want to be penalized they can wear the required equipment. |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by JasonTX; Wed Oct 29, 2008 at 08:40pm. |
|
|||
Jason, like it or not, if the opposing coach points out that a player is not wearing the required equipment and he participated in the previous play I don't see how you can't enforce the penalty. The coach was probably told by one of his own players that the opposing player was lacking the piece of equipment. The coach has now informed you that he suspects that the equipment is missing and your inspection confirms it to be true.
Are you going to tell the coach that he's right but you're going to ignore the rule and not penalize? It's not an enviable position to be in but the opposing coach was asked before the game if all of his players were properly equipped. Presumably, he said 'yes'.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell! |
|
|||
The coach isn't telling the officials what to enforce. The other team isn't following the rules and the coach pointed it out to the official.
|
|
|||
I think if this player did not participate in the previous down, you have rule support from case book play 1.5.1G (a) to send the player off to have it corrected. If he did participate and you know for a fact he did, you don't have much choice on this by rule.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
If a player is not properly equipped, it's an USC foul on the head coach, since he confirmed before the game that they were all properly equipped.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Team USA Softball Loss After Missing Home Plate? | kyleflan | Softball | 4 | Fri Aug 29, 2008 08:10am |
outfielder puts up two hands | BEAREF | Baseball | 4 | Tue Jul 29, 2008 06:36pm |
Block at the end puts team in championship game | Mark Padgett | General / Off-Topic | 0 | Sat Apr 05, 2008 11:39am |
Playoffs | drh898 | Football | 34 | Sun Dec 09, 2007 09:37pm |
NBA Playoffs | rockyroad | Basketball | 73 | Sat May 05, 2007 07:52am |