The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 11:45am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmathews View Post
we have an illegal formation...live ball 5 yds previous spot
I take it you are talking about NCAA rules. What makes this formation illegal in NCAA?
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 12:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
I take it you are talking about NCAA rules. What makes this formation illegal in NCAA?
Because 47 is using the numbering exception, you cannot shift to make him an eligible receiver once the center has touched, or simulated touching the ball. The center touching the ball is what locks in eligibility on scrimmage kicks. (1-4-2-b)

Is there anything that prevents this shift from being legal on Friday nights?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 12:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 1,023
There was no shift in the original example, was there?
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 12:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverAndBack View Post
There was no shift in the original example, was there?
No. Merely bringing a "what-if" to the discussion.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 566
for NFHS, the only thing the shift has done is #17 becomes ineligible by position. #47 remains ineligible due to initial position. So trying to shift around like this can only result in fewer eligible receivers for A.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 12:40pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Thanks refbuz. I'm just starting to learn NCAA rules (moving to Texas next year) so I am asking questions where I can.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welpe View Post
Thanks refbuz. I'm just starting to learn NCAA rules (moving to Texas next year) so I am asking questions where I can.
This is my 1st year in college, its not that bad, I think that enforcements are relatively easier, it just takes more concentration to not kick an enforcement that confuses the 2.

It turns out that we just discussed the rule a couple weeks ago. That is the main reason that I know it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 15, 2008, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 39
Send a message via Yahoo to Tom Hinrichs
In NF rules, the formation is legal after the shift. However, #47 remains inelligible.
__________________
"Where are we going and why are we in this hand cart?"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 16, 2008, 01:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 204
Refbuz - I'm not sure why you have called this shift example as an illegal formation.
The shift has made #17 inelligible, and #47 stays inelligible, but as long as he stays on the line he is still just a lineman.
I don't remember anything about the last man on the line having a requirement to be an elligible receiver as your post implies.

Whould you really flag this at the snap as illegal formation? Or just keep an eye on #47 since he was inelligible by rule even if not by position?

Just want to get full clarification.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 16, 2008, 10:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by jjrye22 View Post
Refbuz - I'm not sure why you have called this shift example as an illegal formation.
I'm an Umpire, so I can say with reasonable certainty that a formation foul will NEVER be my foul, but whether it is a foul or not depends on the rules being used.

With NCAA rules it's a foul (1-4-2(b)/A.R. 1-4-2 IV/V).

In NFHS it is not a foul, as K's "penalty" for the shift is losing an eligible receiver.

Quote:
The shift has made #17 inelligible, and #47 stays inelligible, but as long as he stays on the line he is still just a lineman.
I don't remember anything about the last man on the line having a requirement to be an elligible receiver as your post implies.
I merely asked IF they shift who's LOOKING FOR WHAT.

I think that we can all agree that if something messed up is gonna happen during a game, its gonna happen on a punt.

The point of my post was to get some input to see who's got 47 to make sure that he's not going downfield on fakes or if it breaks down. In HS, he is inelligible and remains that way, but who is looking for it?

What if they shift, run a fake, and pass it to 47. He catches a pass and advances for a TD.

Who's responsibility is it to make sure that 47 doesn't go downfield and catch the game changing TD? Is it solely the umpire's call? Is there help from the wings? Does the number of officials on the field change who would catch that?

That's a train-wreck that we HAVE to catch.

It's an easy foul to get if 47 is the long-snapper and goes downfield and catches or doesn't catch the ball. Based on where 47 is lined up in this formation that call is not as easy to make.

This is kinda the direction i was looking to go.

Quote:
Whould you really flag this at the snap as illegal formation? Or just keep an eye on #47 since he was inelligible by rule even if not by position?
In a college game? I would absolutely expect the wings to throw it because it is a foul, not in a HS game though.

Quote:
Just want to get full clarification.
I hope that you got it.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 07:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
The A-11 has now hit the mainstream media -- that should get FED's attention.
http://www.nytimes.com/2008/10/17/sp...17offense.html
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 11:05am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 1,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The A-11 has now hit the mainstream media -- that should get FED's attention.
http://www.nytimes.com/2008/10/17/sp...17offense.html
Okay, tell me if I'm wrong:



Seven players on the LOS are 1-7 (the numbers in the schematic, not their jersey numbers, which we can't discern)
Eligible receivers have yellow dots (two guys on the end of the line and the three backs - technically I suppose the quarterback could be an eligible receiver as well?)
Ineligible receivers have red dots.
We don't know at what point this photo was taken, but if we presume this is everybody's initial positions, those are the eligibles, correct?

Doesn't seem that complicated. The spreading out of the formation makes it look funky, but they have seven guys on the line, and anybody between the ends who is numbered 1-49 or 80-99 can take the place of someone numbered 50-79 as there is a player seven yards behind the snapper ready to receive the snap. Is that correct?

Simple fixes that put the A11 guy out of business: remove the exception, and say you must have five guys between the ends numbered 50-79, period. Or that the scrimmage kick formation that triggers the exception can only be used on fourth down or in an obvious punting situation (start the debate about "obvious punting situation,").
__________________
"And I'm not just some fan, I've refereed football and basketball in addition to all the baseball I've umpired. I've never made a call that horrible in my life in any sport."---Greatest. Official. Ever.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 17, 2008, 11:06am
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
The A-11 has now hit the mainstream media -- that should get FED's attention.
http://www.nytimes.com/2008/10/17/sp...17offense.html
Here are the scores from Piedmont High School games - running the revolutionary A-11 offense.

9/06/08 @ Drake L, 7-21
9/12/08 vs. Stallworth L, 34-61
9/20/08 @ Laguna Beach W, 17-15
10/03/08 vs. St. Mary’s W, 35-14
10/10/08 vs. Encinal L, 18-39

Wow – 111 points in five games. No other offense could possibly put up those kinds of numbers.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 21, 2008, 06:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 204
Refbuz
Thanks for your heads up interpretation. I read the rule book a few times a year, and I'm sure I have read this
'He must be positioned on the line of scrimmage and between the end players on the line of scrimmage'
about the original position of the player, but I don't think it ever sunk in before. I had always just remembered that he would stay inelligible.

Learning these finer details (nuances) are a real challenge, especially after you are comfortable with things. I'm glad the board is here to keep expanding our awareness!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
scrimmage kick? fan Football 7 Tue Sep 18, 2007 01:31pm
Help: Disagreement on numbering exception ljudge Football 12 Mon Oct 09, 2006 11:28am
Scrimmage kick player # exception BayouUmp Football 2 Wed Aug 31, 2005 06:20am
Scrimmage Kick/PSK or What?? BoBo Football 2 Thu Sep 09, 2004 05:03pm
Scrimmage kick formation exception mabref1 Football 18 Fri Oct 24, 2003 07:11am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1