The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 22, 2003, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2
Exclamation

Our association has discussed the case listed below and cannot agree if this situation is legal. I believe this case violates the scrimmage kick formation exception but I cannot convince some of my fellow officials. Please help us resolve this case.

A contrasting situation is when Team A is in a scrimmage kick formation, but they have five linemen on the field numbered from 50-79. Team A player #80 lines up as a tackle inside Team A's end #79. Then Team A executes a legal shift during which #80 moves to the outside of#79. While #80 was initially ineligible due to position, after the shift he is now eligible by number and position due to the shift. Team A remains in a scrimmage kick formation, fakes the kick and throws a forward pass beyond the neutral zone to #80.

My interpretation is that this is legal and that Team A's shift permitted #80 to become an eligible receiver since #80 was NOT an example of the 7-2-5 numbering exception on scrimmage kicks.

Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1