The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 12:53pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by SportsFan
On a play, the offense is lined up in an illegal formation. A defensive player jumps across the line early, and as soon as the ball is snapped, the play is blown dead, because the defensive player is unabated to the quarterback. Is the offense penalized for an illegal formation?
NFL Ruling:

Illegal formation only is a foul once the ball is legally snapped.

Unabated to the QB is foul that ocurs prior to the snap, and kills the play, preventing any snap: legal or illegal.

Therefore, there is no illegal formation foul, and only the penalty for the defensive foul is applied.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 01:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,916
Quote:
Originally Posted by SportsFan
On a play, the offense is lined up in an illegal formation. A defensive player jumps across the line early, and as soon as the ball is snapped, the play is blown dead, because the defensive player is unabated to the quarterback. Is the offense penalized for an illegal formation?
I'm pretty sure that in NFL rules, "unabated" is only a provision in the encroachment rule that causes an immediate whistle and thereby prevents the ball from being put in play, in which case illegal formation is a non-issue. In other words, if the ball was snapped, "unabated" would not kill the play, so the fact that it was whistled means that the ball remained dead, the ostensible snap being unofficial, and there's no illegal formation until the ball is put in play.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 15, 2008, 01:34pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman
I'm pretty sure that in NFL rules, "unabated" is only a provision in the encroachment rule that causes an immediate whistle and thereby prevents the ball from being put in play, in which case illegal formation is a non-issue. In other words, if the ball was snapped, "unabated" would not kill the play, so the fact that it was whistled means that the ball remained dead, the ostensible snap being unofficial, and there's no illegal formation until the ball is put in play.
You just wanted to use the word "ostensible".
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
illegal formation? yankeesfan Football 11 Thu Nov 16, 2006 11:45pm
NFL Illegal Formation Suudy Football 11 Mon Oct 23, 2006 03:44pm
illegal formation? yankeesfan Football 35 Mon Oct 03, 2005 09:16pm
Illegal Formation or Illegal participation? wgw Football 9 Mon Aug 29, 2005 09:31am
Illegal Formation Florida Rookie Football 7 Fri Oct 08, 2004 02:25pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1