
Mon Sep 15, 2008, 02:25pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichMSN
This is an NFL question, because there is no such foul in lower levels of football.
The unabated happens before the snap, though, and illegal formation is a foul simultaneous with the snap, so no, this isn't penalized.
In a HS game on Friday, we had encroachment by the defense right after two players for the offense went in motion at the same time. The defensive coach couldn't understand why that isn't a penalty on the offense, but like my wing told him, the two in motion could always come set for a full second and then it's just a legal shift before the snap whereas the encroachment is a dead ball foul.
|
I'm confused a little here. Are you suggesting that in NCAA the ball is not to be blown dead if a player who is offsides has an unabated path to the quarterback? I can't recall the rulebook reference but I did see it called against OK in the WA game.
________
VAPORITE PRODUCTS
Last edited by youngump; Mon Sep 19, 2011 at 06:24pm.
|