The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 11:22am
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
The only way, imho, to award possession to the other team, is if you see the turnover 100%. I doubt the R did, so I believe that he was out of line. Way to stick to your guns!
This brings up a point that I've often seen a turnover called, but is a case where you don't see the turnover.

QB sneak up the middle. Everyone knows the ball is in the pile, but nobody sees it. In these cases, we don't need to blow the whistle, and don't. But suddenly a B defenders breaks out of the pile with the ball.

Turnover?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 12:18pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suudy
This brings up a point that I've often seen a turnover called, but is a case where you don't see the turnover.

QB sneak up the middle. Everyone knows the ball is in the pile, but nobody sees it. In these cases, we don't need to blow the whistle, and don't. But suddenly a B defenders breaks out of the pile with the ball.

Turnover?
If there is a pile, then you gotta get in there. In my experience, a QB sneak often has the QB progress stopped before a pile ensues. In fact, the QB sneak is often in our pre-game for hhte side guys to quickly rule of progress.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 12:48pm
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
If there is a pile, then you gotta get in there. In my experience, a QB sneak often has the QB progress stopped before a pile ensues. In fact, the QB sneak is often in our pre-game for hhte side guys to quickly rule of progress.
I know that you mentioned on those crash plays at the goalline, the U is allowed to signal TD. On the wing, it can be damn near impossible to see the ball in the middle, especially on sneaks and dives. Even crashing in on those plays you can't always see the ball, especially if the runner goes low rather than over the pile.

But that doesn't answer the question. If suddenly B comes out of a pile with the ball, and nobody saw the runner down in possession, is it a turnover?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 07:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suudy
I know that you mentioned on those crash plays at the goalline, the U is allowed to signal TD. On the wing, it can be damn near impossible to see the ball in the middle, especially on sneaks and dives. Even crashing in on those plays you can't always see the ball, especially if the runner goes low rather than over the pile.

But that doesn't answer the question. If suddenly B comes out of a pile with the ball, and nobody saw the runner down in possession, is it a turnover?
On the goal line plays, our U may signal (by grabbing his whistle) that the ball is across the plane, but NEVER signals TD. The wings use the information from the U to decide whether a TD was indeed scored. The U may see that the ball has broken the plane, but cannot rule on whether the knee was down first.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 10:10pm
I Bleed Crimson
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forksref
On the goal line plays, our U may signal (by grabbing his whistle) that the ball is across the plane, but NEVER signals TD. The wings use the information from the U to decide whether a TD was indeed scored. The U may see that the ball has broken the plane, but cannot rule on whether the knee was down first.
Same mechanic here. I was referring to JR's previous posting that U's in Canada are permitted to signal TD, and was trying to correlate that to how they handle those crash plays even in the middle of the field.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 05:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
If there is a pile, then you gotta get in there. In my experience, a QB sneak often has the QB progress stopped before a pile ensues. In fact, the QB sneak is often in our pre-game for hhte side guys to quickly rule of progress.
You have to distinguish a sneak from a wedge. On a wedge play, the runner's progress might be stopped without his being in contact with an opponent, and the ball remains live.

Robert
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 08:48pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman
You have to distinguish a sneak from a wedge. On a wedge play, the runner's progress might be stopped without his being in contact with an opponent, and the ball remains live.

Robert
Yup. Our Us rule of forward progress. It's never been a problem that I've noticed.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bad coach, good coach BuggBob Softball 21 Wed Jul 11, 2007 06:54pm
Foul B1 , T on coach, another T and coach exits jritchie Basketball 15 Wed Nov 08, 2006 09:02pm
Would you have T`d the coach? Jay R Basketball 29 Mon Nov 01, 2004 11:14am
Do you have that one coach? WinterWillie Softball 10 Tue May 11, 2004 06:23pm
Coach with a gun Spaman_29 Basketball 22 Sat Nov 24, 2001 09:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1