![]() |
I didn't see it coach...
This is my first year officiating football.
I was the HL in a Pop Warner Jr Pee Wee game (Fed rules) last night. 3-man mechanics This is what happened: A 1-10 @ A30. A10 runs towards my side, he is tripped up at A30 and lands on A32. I mark the spot and the U is waiting at the hash for the ball, when we look and B33 has the ball at A28. Neither of us saw how or when the ball changed hands. R came over from the other wing and wanted to give the ball to B. U and I said since we didn't see the ball come lose, it stays A ball. We "won" the argument, but after the game R insisted we should have given the ball to B. The official running the clock in the press box later told us, he saw B take the ball after A was down, so we made the right call. Any opinions? |
Why did R want to give ball to B? Did he see the ball come loose? If nobody saw it come loose then the ball is dead. Just because he saw it in "possession" of another player is not reason to award it to that player.
Of course, the next question is...when you blew your whistle did you see the ball in possession of the player who had it and who you thought had been tackled with it? |
Actually, I didn't blow my whistle cause I didn't see the ball. U blew his whistle. I assumed the runner had the ball and came up to make the spot when I realized he didn't have it.:confused:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
QB sneak up the middle. Everyone knows the ball is in the pile, but nobody sees it. In these cases, we don't need to blow the whistle, and don't. But suddenly a B defenders breaks out of the pile with the ball. Turnover? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
But that doesn't answer the question. If suddenly B comes out of a pile with the ball, and nobody saw the runner down in possession, is it a turnover? |
Quote:
Robert |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43am. |