The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 19, 2007, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
3-4-6 The ball remains dead and a down is not begun if a snap or free-kick is attempted before the ball is ready for play, or there is an illegal snap, other snap infraction or a dead-ball foul occurs.

2-40-2 The snap begins when the snapper first moves the ball legally other than in adjustment. In a snap, the movement must be a quick and continuous backward motion of the ball during which the ball immediately leaves the hand(s) of the snapper and touches a back or the ground before it touches an A lineman.

So in the original situation the ball hit a lineman, the snapper's knee, before it touched a back or the ground so it was an illegal snap.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 19, 2007, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 30
So in the original situation the ball hit a lineman, the snapper's knee, before it touched a back or the ground so it was an illegal snap.[/QUOTE]

Would this be a 5 yd penalty against A / repeat the down / clock start at the ready ?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 20, 2007, 12:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by raiderfan
So in the original situation the ball hit a lineman, the snapper's knee, before it touched a back or the ground so it was an illegal snap.
Would this be a 5 yd penalty against A / repeat the down / clock start at the ready ?[/QUOTE]

NF - It’s a dead ball foul, the clock will revert to its status after the previous play.
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Last edited by dumbref; Sat Oct 20, 2007 at 12:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 20, 2007, 01:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warrenkicker
3-4-6 The ball remains dead and a down is not begun if a snap or free-kick is attempted before the ball is ready for play, or there is an illegal snap, other snap infraction or a dead-ball foul occurs.

2-40-2 The snap begins when the snapper first moves the ball legally other than in adjustment. In a snap, the movement must be a quick and continuous backward motion of the ball during which the ball immediately leaves the hand(s) of the snapper and touches a back or the ground before it touches an A lineman.

So in the original situation the ball hit a lineman, the snapper's knee, before it touched a back or the ground so it was an illegal snap.
Sorry it was NCAA. we have no 2-40-2 but that is a good one.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 22, 2007, 08:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
Quote:
Originally Posted by txrefcshou
Sorry it was NCAA. we have no 2-40-2 but that is a good one.
I should have known that.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Judgment calls on pre-snap and at-the-snap fouls??? ChickenOfNC Football 18 Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:44pm
Snap lds7199 Football 17 Fri Sep 08, 2006 11:33am
on the snap? jjb Football 6 Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:57am
snap or no snap hobbes Football 8 Tue Sep 21, 2004 04:36pm
Bad snap ABoselli Football 7 Mon Jan 13, 2003 06:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1