The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 19, 2007, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 945
3-4-6 The ball remains dead and a down is not begun if a snap or free-kick is attempted before the ball is ready for play, or there is an illegal snap, other snap infraction or a dead-ball foul occurs.

2-40-2 The snap begins when the snapper first moves the ball legally other than in adjustment. In a snap, the movement must be a quick and continuous backward motion of the ball during which the ball immediately leaves the hand(s) of the snapper and touches a back or the ground before it touches an A lineman.

So in the original situation the ball hit a lineman, the snapper's knee, before it touched a back or the ground so it was an illegal snap.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Judgment calls on pre-snap and at-the-snap fouls??? ChickenOfNC Football 18 Tue Jan 09, 2007 01:44pm
Snap lds7199 Football 17 Fri Sep 08, 2006 11:33am
on the snap? jjb Football 6 Mon Oct 25, 2004 10:57am
snap or no snap hobbes Football 8 Tue Sep 21, 2004 04:36pm
Bad snap ABoselli Football 7 Mon Jan 13, 2003 06:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1