![]() |
|
|
|||
How would you handle this?
I was line judge in a youth game. On one play, A's guard and tackle on my side were not set for a second before the snap. At the snap, I throw my flag. After the play, I tell my white hat that I have an illegal shift on the guard and tackle. He asked me what happened, and I told him that the guard and tackle were not set. He begins to lecture me that I need to shut this play down. He calls it a dead ball false start and doesn't give B an option. Now, I know that this is a live ball foul and he threw me under the bus on it. Luckily, the situation didn't repeat itself, but how would you have handled it if it happened again during the game? Would you again properly throw it as a live ball foul, or would you improperly shut it down as a false start (thus avoiding another scene)? My white hat in this game was an older gentleman and wouldn't buy my argument. It was pointless to argue with him. Did an illegal shift used to get shut down in years past as a false start? Thanks for any feedback!
Scott |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
The youth game is played under fed rules. This game would be the equivalent of a good middle school game. The infraction was blatant and the coach was already in my ear about them not being set as my flag was being thrown. There wasn't any letting it go. They were still getting set as the snap happened. My question is about the white hat insisting on calling it something it isn't. It wasn't a false start! What if it would have happened again? How can I justify my knowledge of the rules if I shut this play down. I guess I'm wondering if anybody else has been put in this situation.
Scott |
|
|||
Another chance for my famous saying:
You're gonna get yelled at anyway, so get yelled at for doing the right thing. I would keep calling it correctly, and let him keep making the mistake. After the game, I would talk to the white hat and explain why this is a foul at the snap and not a false start. I was in that situation when I joined my first varsity crew. Took a while, but I finally convinced them that I was right. I also made sure we talked about the difference at our local association meetings so that everyone, especially the "experienced" guys, understood the rule. |
|
|||
Explain to the WH that the reason it is LB fouls is cuz it is not a foul UNTIL the snap cuz until the snap it can be corrected. So if the snap was a second later, you would not have had a foul. You might also mention that it is no different than an illegal formation, which also can be corrected.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Robert |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
We too require our linemen to be set for a second prior to the snap. If they're not, it is illegal procedure, and is to be blown dead. If a side guy doesn't blow it dead right away, I want them to kill the play late, rather than never. This is because it says in our book that the officials are empowered to kill the play dead. With that verbiage, it is believed that there is no requirement to kill the play. When I do suggest that the play be killed, I do it quietly and not in front of players, coaches, etc...
__________________
Pope Francis |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
How would you handle this? | Justme | Baseball | 3 | Fri Mar 30, 2007 11:37am |
How would you handle this? | gazebra | Basketball | 2 | Sat Jan 13, 2007 10:33pm |
How would you handle this? | 1231234 | Basketball | 14 | Wed Jan 26, 2005 01:00pm |
How would you handle this? | gostars | Basketball | 10 | Thu Jan 20, 2005 05:01pm |
How would you handle this? | Ref in PA | Basketball | 7 | Thu Jan 20, 2005 12:30pm |