![]() |
|
|
|||
I know MJT is officiating at a much higher level than me, but what about this particular play?
A will be running a sweep to the strong side. Strong tackle blocks the DE towards the sideline. Fullback blocks the strong side LB. TE should block the middle LB. The TE runs downfield 3 steps, cuts hard inside and goes hunting for the LB. The action that I am seing COULD still be a pass play, and the TE has made a definative cut and is running parallel to the LOS. So it would have to be an illegal use of hands according to MJT. Then there is the same movement for everyone, but it is a pass play... I think I'd be giving the defense the benifit of the doubt in this case. Again - I am in a completly different set of circumstances than MJT, and will unfortunately never get to work college ball. :-( James |
|
|||
jjrye22,
By the time the sweep is formed you will know the intent of team A players. Most of the time if it is a sweep, a couple of the linemen pulling to get out in front of the running back. If it is a screen play, there may be a slight delay but you should see block drifting in front of the receiver. A lot of times the linemen tell you what type of play is being run by their blocking.
__________________
Knowing the rules is half of what it takes to be a good official. Being in position to make the call is the other half. |
|
|||
So lets see if I've got a "proper" interpretation here.
If A is past and moving away from B any contact on A is Illegal Use of Hands. This contact can be with an open hand, a shoulder nudge or anything that "intentionally" knocks A off his route (would feet tangling would be ignored like it is in DPI/OPI). If A and B are chicken fighting (sorry best description I can think of) right from the snap and A hasn't gotten past or away from B, that contact is legal - up until the ball is thrown toward A or A is able to get past or away from B. Does it seem like I've got it? |
|
|||
Paul,
As MJT siad, you also have to take a look at the QB as well. Your flag will come late if an attempted pass is trying to reach A. If no pass is attempted, you got nothing. You have to see the whole play, the BIG picture. Your second example I would say is correct.
__________________
Knowing the rules is half of what it takes to be a good official. Being in position to make the call is the other half. |
|
|||
Quote:
You do raise an interesting point though, and I don't think the MJT was saying that a pass must be thrown before a flag is thrown. What if B blocks all the A receivers and A wasn't able to throw a pass or A wasn't able to throw as quickly because the primary receiver was blocked and then A was sacked. You said if no pass is attempted you've got nothing, but in this case, its the illegal act that has caused no pass to be attempted and I would think we should flag the illegal contact. I agree you've got to see the BIG picture and understand what A was trying to do. If you feel that A was going to attempt a pass then you've got to flag the contact because the contact may have been the reason the pass wasn't attempted. If you don't feel that A was going to pass, then I think you let that contact go. We've got to make a judgement on A's intentions regarding pass or run, I don't think we can strictly go off of an actual pass - although the actual pass certainly makes A's intention known. Thanks for the input and the great discussion on this topic ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
5 Games.... | Larks | Basketball | 1 | Sun Dec 04, 2005 01:43am |
Anybody else have bad games? | Illinois blue | Softball | 13 | Sat Apr 23, 2005 12:25pm |
"B" Games | whistleone | Basketball | 18 | Fri Dec 06, 2002 03:36pm |
Games | dmarcotte | Basketball | 1 | Sun Nov 24, 2002 01:25am |
games, games, games | dmarcotte | Baseball | 0 | Tue Nov 19, 2002 05:38pm |