The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 28, 2007, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 244
NCAA

Rule 6-3-12
No Team A player who goes out of bounds during a scrimmage kick down may return inbounds during the down (Exception: This does not apply to a Team A player who is blocked out of bounds and attempts to return inbounds immediately).
PENALTY -
Live-ball foul. Five yards from the previous spot [S19].
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 28, 2007, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 121
Again, K99 did not return inbounds...
__________________
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 28, 2007, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 244
Quote:
Originally Posted by nvfoa15
Again, K99 did not return inbounds...
D'Oh!
My bad - I need to take my time and read these things twice before I answer

This question gets nastier and nastier the more I think about it. Under NCAA rules, K99 hasn't even illegally touched it as he isn't inbounds.

Rule 6-3-2-a
No inbounds player of the kicking team shall touch a scrimmage kick that has crossed the neutral zone before it touches an opponent. Such illegal touching is a violation that, when the ball becomes dead, gives the receiving team the privilege of taking the ball at the spot of the violation.


The only thing I could think of (and it's a real stretch) would be

Rule 3-5-2-d
Substitutes who become players must remain in the game for one play....


although I'm sure the spirit of that Rule was not meant to cover such situations as this.
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 28, 2007, 03:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Great play. Should have read it closer. Sorry for the obvious answer. I can't think of anything specific in the NFHS rule book, but it does seem like an illegal play.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 28, 2007, 03:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: minnesota
Posts: 154
K99 is out of bounds ...k99 remained out of bounds ... so here goes without rule reference or books.

1. K99 bats ball while ball is in bounds... illegal participation (he participated in the play by batting a live ball in the field of play)
2. K99 bats ball while ball is out of bounds or while kick is in the air above the sideline... ball is dead because the ball is out of bounds. R's ball at the out of bounds
spot.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 28, 2007, 10:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 321
Quote:
Originally Posted by l3will
K99 is out of bounds ...k99 remained out of bounds ... so here goes without rule reference or books.

1. K99 bats ball while ball is in bounds... illegal participation (he participated in the play by batting a live ball in the field of play)
2. K99 bats ball while ball is out of bounds or while kick is in the air above the sideline... ball is dead because the ball is out of bounds. R's ball at the out of bounds
spot.

For #1 - he has the legal right to touch the ball. He is still a player, and any player may recover a loose ball. No different than a player sliding out of bound trying to recover the ball then touching it while he was out of bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 29, 2007, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: minnesota
Posts: 154
My thinking is that K99 chose to go out of bounds and he chose to stay out
of bounds... when he reaches back in to the field of play while still standing
out of bounds he violates the spirit of the rule. 9-6-2.

So what would you do... declare it dead at the one even though the kick would have crossed the goal line.?

Great play for thought...

I'd might even invoke 9-9-1...
A player or nonplayer or person not subject to the rules shall not hinder play
by an unfair act which has no specific coverage. In this case probably declare
it a touchback .

My thought, your opinion may vary
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
illegal Substitution or illegal Participation verticalStripes Football 11 Fri Sep 12, 2008 10:57am
Illegal Participation cougar729 Football 13 Tue Oct 24, 2006 03:17pm
Illegal Participation Samdog Football 19 Fri Sep 02, 2005 04:46am
Illegal Formation or Illegal participation? wgw Football 9 Mon Aug 29, 2005 09:31am
Illegal Participation dumbref Football 5 Mon Nov 03, 2003 10:12am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1